Kathy Lynn Emerson
to update and correct
her very out-of-date
Wives and Daughters: The Women of Sixteenth-Century England (1984)
NOTE: this document exists only in electronic format
and is ©2008-14 Kathy Lynn Emerson (all rights reserved)
ALATHEA or ALETHEIA TALBOT (1584-May 24,1654)
Althea Talbot was the daughter of Gilbert Talbot, 7th earl of Shrewsbury (November 20,1553-May 8,1616) and Mary Cavendish (January 1556/7-April 1632) and eventually inherited a vast estate in Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, and Yorkshire. She married Thomas Howard, earl of Arundel (July 7,1586-October 4,1646) on September 30, 1606 and was the mother of James (1607-1624), Henry (August 15,1608-April 17,1652), William (November 30, 1612-1680), Charles, Catherine, Gilbert, Thomas, Theophilus, and Anne (c.1614-1658). She was interested in science and had some of her own works published. Her husband was an art collector. They lived all over Europe and after a stint in Venice, Alathea brought a gondola back with her to use on the Thames. During the Civil War both Alathea and her husband remained on the Continent, but they were not together and were also separated from their children. Arundel died in Padua. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under "Howard, Aletheia." NOTE: the DNB gives her father's year of birth as 1552 and her husband's as 1585. Portraits: miniature as a child; by Daniel Mytens c.1618; group painted by Peter Paul Rubens in 1620; engraving 1646; others.
see ANNE HART; ANNE HASTINGS; ANNE HERBERT
TALBOT (March 18,
1523-July 18, 1588)
Anne Talbot was the daughter of George Talbot, 4th earl of Shrewsbury (1468-July 26, 1538) and Elizabeth Walden (1491-July 1567). She married first, on May 29, 1537, Peter Compton (1522-1542) and was the mother of Henry, 1st baron Compton (February 16, 1538-December 1589). In May 1552, she became the second wife of William Herbert, earl of Pembroke (c.1506-March 17, 1569/70), who married her for her money and connections. When he died, she received a letter of condolence from the queen and was allowed to keep her own clothes and jewels, which would otherwise have gone to her eldest stepson, and stay in Baynard’s Castle. Anne was buried at Erith, Kent on August 8, 1588.
ANNE TALBOT (c.1524-February 3, 1585)
Anne Talbot was the daughter of Francis Talbot, 5th Earl of Shrewsbury (1500-September 25,1560) and Mary Dacre (1502-March 29, 1538). In 1542, she married her father's ward, John Bray, 2nd Baron Bray (c.1527-November 18, 1557). Although some sources say he was executed for his part in the Dudley Conspiracy, this is not the case. Bray seems rather to have been in the wrong places with the wrong people at the wrong time. He was first arrested on July 15,1553, during Wyatt’s rebellion, on suspicion of being involved in that plot, but he was released later the same day. On January 5, 1556, in the parish of St. Andrew in the ward of Baynard’s Castle, he made the mistake of saying that if his neighbor of Hatfield might once reign, he would have his lands and debts given to him again, which he both wished for and trusted he would see. In other words, he hoped Queen Mary would die so that Elizabeth Tudor could ascend to the throne. This was sufficient cause to arrest him when rumors of the Dudley Conspiracy came to light and he was in custody by May 5, 1556. As soon as Lady Bray heard of her husband’s arrest, she went at once to London, as did her mother-in-law, Jane Hallighwell. Neither woman managed to arrange a meeting with the queen, but they sent tokens to influential courtiers, including Susan Clarenceaux, the queen’s chief gentlewoman. Hearing of Lady Bray’s campaign to free her husband, Queen Mary is reported to have said that "God sent often times to good women evil husbands." She may have been thinking of her own husband, for word had come to her on June 16 that King Philip would not be returning to England as planned. Upon receiving that news, the queen shut herself away, refusing to see any petitioners. Meanwhile, Lord Bray was confined first in the Fleet and later in the Tower and according to gossip was deprived of basic necessities while his wife was offered "no gentleness." Throughout his imprisonment, Bray maintained that he was innocent of treason and the eventual charge against him was only "infraction of true obedience" for his "false and contemptuous words." He remained in custody until the first week of April 1557 and was then released. He was pardoned on May 13, 1557. When King Philip raised an army to fight the French, he joined up, as did many who had formerly been rebels, and he fought at Saint Quentin on August 10, where he was wounded. It was as a result of these wounds that he died on November 18, 1557 in his house in Blackfriars. His wife was not with him, although his mother was, and she was the one he named executrix of his will, which was proved on November 20, 1557. His mother arranged for his burial at Chelsea, where his father and grandfather rested. It is difficult to tell if there was a rift between husband and wife at this time. Spouses did not customarily attend funerals. In this case, however, neither did any of Anne’s relatives, the Talbots. The chief mourner was George, Lord Cobham, Bray’s brother-in-law. Anne had no children by John Bray and the title went into abeyance after his death. She remarried four years later, on November 18, 1561, taking as her second husband Thomas, 1st baron Wharton (1495 or 1501-August 23, 1568). She did not have any children by her second husband, either. The date of her second marriage is too late for her to have been the Lady Anne Wharton who was part of Mary Tudor's household as princess. That was probably Anne Radcliffe, who married Anne Talbot's future stepson in 1547. Anne Talbot, Lady Wharton, made her will in 1582. Portraits: effigies on monuments with Lord Wharton at Kirkby Stephen, Westmorland and Healaugh, Yorkshire.
CATHERINE TALBOT (1553-May 15, 1575)
Catherine Talbot was the eldest daughter of George Talbot, 6th earl of Shrewsbury (1528-November 19, 1590) and Gertrude Manners (d. January 1566). On February 17, 1562/3 she was married to Henry, Lord Herbert, heir to the earl of Pembroke (1540-January 19, 1601) and he succeeded to that title in 1570. As countess of Pembroke, Catherine was at court, where she was a favorite of Queen Elizabeth. During her lingering, almost two-year-long terminal illness, the queen loaned the Pembrokes one of her own ships so that they could travel to the Continent in search of a cure. Catherine had no children.
Constance Talbot was the daughter of Sir John Talbot of Albrighton, Shropshire and Grafton, Lincolnshire (1491-September 10, 1548) and Margaret Troutback (1493-1534). One source says that on March 30, 1533, she married Sir George Blount of Kinlet, Shropshire and Knightley, Staffordshire (1512/13-July 20, 1581), but in the recent biography of George's sister, Bess Blount, Elizabeth Norton dates their marriage settlement in "March 1536, the year of their marriage." Constance’s parents paid sums of money to George's widowed mother. Norton also says the marriage was "long lasting and evidently happy." This is contradicted elsewhere. They were the parents of one son, John, who died young, reportedly from choking on an apple, and one daughter, Dorothy. Although they were both Catholics, Sir George conformed during the reign of Elizabeth, but his wife, according to the History of Parliament, was "an encumbrance." They separated by October 1575, when a settlement was drawn up by the bishop and dean of Worcester. In 1577, Blount was returned as a recusant. Blount also quarreled with their daughter over her 1576 marriage to John Purslow of Sidbury, Shropshire and disinherited her in 1577, making his nephew, Roland Lacon, his heir. Dorothy challenged his will (made December 30, 1580) but lost her case. Portrait: effigy on tomb in Kinlet, Shropshire, which also shows her daughter kneeling behind her.
Elizabeth Talbot was the daughter of John Talbot, 1st earl of Shrewsbury (c.1387-1453) and Margaret Beauchamp (1404-1467). She was married November 27, 1448 to John Mowbray, duke of Norfolk (October 18, 1444-January 1475/6), a staunch supporter of King Edward IV who was twice imprisoned before Edward secured the throne. By 1467, Elizabeth's jointure had been expanded to include most of the Mowbray inheritance, insuring that she would control it if the duke died. In July 1468, she accompanied Margaret Plantagenet to Burgundy for her marriage to Duke Charles. Elizabeth was pregnant when her husband died but the child did not survive. His sole heir was a young daughter, Anne (1471-November 19, 1481). On January 15, 1478, Anne was married to Richard, second son of Edward IV, who was created duke of Norfolk. She was five. He was four. Neither lived to adulthood. The widowed duchess continued to be influential in East Anglia and shows up in the Paston letters as one of their adversaries. During her widowhood, the dukedom was revived for the Howard family and subsequently taken away again, leading to confusion in some records between Elizabeth Talbot and Elizabeth Tylney, first wife of Thomas Howard, 2nd duke of Norfolk, even though he was not restored to the title (the second restoration) until after Elizabeth Tylney died. The two women share a stained glass window in Long Melford Church, Suffolk. Elizabeth Talbot had the marriage and wardship of Gilbert Pynchbeke, son and heir of Thomas Pynchbeke, which she bought from the earl of Oxford. This must have been fairly late in her life, as she mentions it in her will. In 1505, she was named executrix of the estate of her sister-in-law, Jane Champernowne, widow of Sir Humphrey Talbot. Both women asked, in their wills, to be buried in the nun's quire of the Minories without Aldgate, London, near the place where Anne Darcy, wife of John Montgomery, apparently a lifelong friend, was buried. Elizabeth Talbot wrote her will on November 6, 1506 and it was proved June 28, 1507. Magna Carta Ancestry says May 10, 1507. It is mistakenly identified as a third will written by Elizabeth Tylney by the editor of Testamenta Vetusta. Portrait: stained glass window in Long Melford, Suffolk. Biography: included in the Oxford DNB entry for her husband.
Elizabeth Talbot was the daughter of George Talbot, 4th earl of Shrewsbury (1468-July 26, 1538) and Anne Hastings (c.1471-1510). In 1519, she married William Dacre, 3rd baron Dacre of the North (April 29, 1500-November 18, 1563) and was the mother of Thomas, 4th baron (c.1527/30-July 25, 1566), Leonard (d.1573), Magdalen (1539-1608), Anne (d.1581), Francis, Edward, Mary (c.1536-April 12, 1611+), and six others. The Talbot papers include three letters from Elizabeth, two to her brother Francis, the 5th earl, and one to his third wife, Grace. The latter, written from Skipton on December 22 (no year given), mentions her married daughter, Anne, and plans to visit Carlisle. One to Shrewsbury is dated December 29 from Morpeth and seems to be from the same year. The third letter is dated November 3, 1555 and requests that her brother assist two of the Dacre servants who have grievances. Mary Anne Everett Green references another letter, written by the widowed Lady Dacre in 1566, but this was Elizabeth Leyburne, the widow of Elizabeth Talbot's eldest son.
ELIZABETH TALBOT (before February 10, 1582-December 7, 1651)
Elizabeth Talbot was the daughter of Gilbert Talbot, 7th earl of Shrewbury (November 20, 1553-May 8,1616) and Mary Cavendish (January 1556/7-April 1632). Elizabeth was highly educated. She compiled A choice Manuall, or Rare and Select Secrets in Physick and Chyrurgery and A True Gentlewoman’s Delight, Wherein is contained all manner of Cookery. These works went through numerous editions in the seventeenth century, each with a portrait of its author. In 1601, Elizabeth went to court as a maid of honor. On November 16, 1601, she married Henry Grey, Lord Ruthin (c.1583-1639), heir to the earldom of Kent. They had no children. In 1602, Elizabeth’s cousin, Arbella Stuart, was committed to her care at Sheriff Hutton. Arbella was still with the Greys when Queen Elizabeth died. Together they moved to Wrest Park, where Arbella remained until June 1604. Grey succeeded to the earldom in 1623, making Elizabeth a countess. Elizabeth was often at court under James I, performing in masques and participating in state ceremonies. The Greys also spent a great deal of their time at Wrest Park in Bedfordshire, which became a mecca for poets, including John Selden, a poet. Elizabeth received a number of dedications, including Selden’s Table Talk. Selden remained in Elizabeth’s household after her husband’s death and was the beneficiary in her will, prompting John Aubrey’s claim in Brief Lives (written between 1669 and 1696) that they were secretly married. There is no confirmation of this, nor of Elizabeth’s supposed liaison with Sir Edward Herbert (1591-1657), a judge. She died in her home, Friary House, Whitefriars, London and was buried at Flitton, Bedfordshire. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under “Grey, Elizabeth.” Portraits: c.1618, by Paul van Somer; c.1637 etching by W. Hollar.
see ELIZABETH HARDWICK; ELIZABETH LEIGHTON; ELIZABETH REYNER; ELIZABETH WALDEN
see FRANCES GIFFARD
Grace Talbot was the youngest daughter of George Talbot, 6th earl of Shrewsbury (1528-1590) and Gertrude Manners (d.1566). On February 9, 1568, at the age of eight, she was married to the son of her father’s second wife. Henry Cavendish of Tutbury, Staffordshire (December 17, 1550-October 12, 1616) was seventeen. The marriage was a dismal failure, although they continued to live together at Tutbury Castle and share the financial difficulties brought on by Henry’s extravagance. Grace had no children, but Henry fathered no fewer than eight illegitimate sons and daughters. He is said to have once called her a harlot in front of their servants, but it seems unlikely that she had done anything to deserve the name. She remained on good terms with her mother-in-law, Bess of Hardwick, throughout Bess’s life. Portrait: by George Gower, 1591.
see GRACE SHAKERLEY
(c.1504-April 16, 1572)
Mary Talbot was the daughter of George Talbot, 4th earl of Shrewsbury (1468-July 26,1538) and Anne Hastings (c.1471-1510). Although the duke of Buckingham wanted her for his son, Mary was betrothed to Henry Percy, later 6th earl of Northumberland (1502-January 30,1537) in 1516 and married him in January 1524. Their longstanding betrothal was used to prevent Percy from marrying Anne Boleyn, with whom he had unwisely fallen in love. The marriage was not a happy one. In 1528, her husband, who had succeeded to the title of earl of Northumberland, was complaining about Mary’s "malicious arts" and "imaginations of untruth." Mary's father, meanwhile, was concerned that Northumberland might be abusing his wife, even poisoning her. Northumberland refused to let any of Talbot’s servants see or talk to Mary. Eventually, she left him and went home to her family. She gave birth to a stillborn child in April 1529. Whether she ever returned to her husband is unclear but, in 1532, Mary accused him of having had a pre-contract with Anne Boleyn that would render their marriage null and void. This effort to obtain an annulment failed. By 1534, Mary was living with her father. In 1536, Shrewsbury claimed that Northumberland had not paid Mary the 200 marks a year he had promised her when they separated. Northumberland countered with the charge that Shrewsbury had never handed over Mary’s dowry. When Northumberland died, having no sons to inherit, he willed his lands and title to the Crown. Mary's father made his will on August 21, 1537. He charged his son Francis "that if my daughter, the Countess of Northumberland, have not . . . lands out of the late inheritance of her late husband, Henry, late Earl of Northumberland, deceased, as will extend to find her an honorable living, that then my said son Francis and his heirs shall give and find the Countess of Northumberland meat, drink, apparel and other funding during her life natural or unto such time as she shall have some lands which shall be to her an honorable living." On May 15, 1542, Mary was at Greenwich to petition the king for support. He reminded her that her father had never paid Northumberland her dowry but promised to refer the matter to the Privy Council. Again, nothing was done. Finally, in May 1549, Mary was granted properties, rent free for life, worth £200/year. Under Mary Tudor, she traveled to St. James on November 21, 1555, to present a petition to the queen and received "very good and comfortable words," as she wrote to her brother from Coldharbour. She visited Mary's court occasionally, but lived primarily at Warmhill, on the banks of the Wye, a Shrewsbury property. Mary lived well into the reign of Elizabeth. She was a recusant. On September 22, 1560, Mary attended the funeral of her brother, the earl of Shrewsbury, along with his two daughters, his daughter-in-law, and five of his granddaughters. She made her will on April 16, 1572 and it was proved at Durham on June 6, 1572. She left mourning and small sums of money to her servants, naming each of her women: Margery Gravener, Anne Bulkeley, Marie Everede, Anne Day, and Katherine Parkyn. Her half sister, Anne Talbot, countess of Pembroke, was named as her executor. She was buried in St. Peter's Church, Sheffield. Biography: Mary is one of five women profiled in the unpublished doctoral disseration Image and Reality: the Lives of Aristocratic Women in Early Tudor England (1998) by Jennifer Ann Rowley-Williams.
see MARY CAVENDISH
Mary Talbot was the eldest daughter of Gilbert Talbot, 7th earl of Shrewsbury (November 20, 1553-May 6, 1616) and Mary Cavendish (January 1556-April 1632). Her godmother was Mary, Queen of Scots. She was at the court of Queen Elizabeth from 1600-1603 as a maid of the Privy Chamber. She was a patron of the arts, especially after she married William Herbert, 3rd earl of Pembroke (April 18, 1580-April 10, 1630) on November 4, 1604. The wedding was celebrated with a tournament at Wilton, but the marriage was both unhappy and childless. Pembroke’s elegy includes this line: "He paid much too dear for his wife’s fortune by taking her person into the bargain."
Mary Talbot was the daughter of Henry Talbot (1563-1596) and Elizabeth Reyner (d.1612) and the granddaughter of George Talbot, 6th earl of Shrewsbury (1528-1590). She was born at Overton, Huntingdonshire and was apparently given an excellent education because she was considered a Latinist and was able to read French. In her funeral sermon she was praised for her skill in divinity and history. She married first her stepbrother, Thomas Holcroft of Vale Royale (January 20, 1595/6-c.1626). Her second husband was Sir William Armine or Armyne of Osgodby, Lincolnshire (December 11, 1593-April 10, 1651), to whom she was married on August 28, 1628. With the wealth acquired by inheriting properties in Huntingdon, Yorkshire, and Derbyshire, she was able to be a generous benefactor to individuals and causes. She also founded several almshouses. She was a supporter of the parliamentarian cause. She was buried at the church of Orton Longueville, Huntingdonshire with her mother and son. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under "Armine [née Talbot; other married name Holcroft], Mary." Portrait: one by C. Jansen was extant at Welbeck Abbey in 1885; line engraving by F. H. Van Hove.
see OLIVE SHERRINGTON
ELEANOR TALBOYS (1433-April 2, 1502)
Eleanor Talboys was the daughter of Walter Talboys of Kyme (1391-April 13, 1444) and Alice Stafford (1405-April 1448). Some accounts, even the Oxford DNB entry on Agnes Tilney, give her first husband as Hugh Tilney or Tylney of Boston, and make her the mother of Agnes, later duchess of Norfolk (1477-May 1545) and her older brother, Philip (d.1532/3), but the dates just do not mesh. Eleanor did marry Thomas Strangeways of Stinsford, Dorset and Melton, Somerset (d.1484), possibly as early as 1451. Their children were Henry (d. May 1504), Thomas (d.c.1512), Joan (married by 1483), John, and James (c.1470-1516). Eleanor was an heiress in her own right and held the manor of Sutton Malet in Somersetshire and other lands. In 1485, she joined in a petition to Henry VII for the return of several manors in Staffordshire and Worcestershire that had been seized by the crown after the attainder of Humphrey Stafford, earl of Devon in 1469. The earl had been the nephew of Eleanor's mother, Alice Stafford. The others bringing suit were Eleanor's half sister, Elizabeth Cheney, Lady Coleshill, and their nephew, Robert Willoughby, son of Anne Cheney, Lady Willoughby. They were apparently successful and Eleanor was also granted the manor of Long Wittenham in Berkshire from the Stafford estate. Tudor Place has Eleanor married to John Twynho after December 18, 1484, but that site also gives her the earlier marriage to Tilney. Eleanor made her will on February 11, 1500. She left her sons Thomas, John, and James 30 marks each. She was buried with Thomas Strangeways at Abbotsbury, Dorset.
Elizabeth Talboys was the daughter of Gilbert Talboys (d.1530), who was created Baron Talboys in 1530, and Elizabeth Blount (1500-1540). Her mother, before her marriage to Talboys, was the mistress of Henry VIII and the mother of his illegitimate son, Henry Fitzroy and some argue that Elizabeth was also the king's child. In 1541, after the deaths of her two younger brothers, George and Robert, Elizabeth became Baroness Talboys in her own right. She was the "lady Elizabeth Talboys" to whom, in 1551, Sir Charles Brandon (illegitimate son of Charles Brandon, duke of Suffolk) bequeathed a ring valued at five marks. She was married twice, first, c.1540, to Thomas Wymbish or Wimbush of Nocton, Lincolnshire (d.1552/3). King Henry spent the night of October 13, 1541 at Nocton, but it is unclear if they were in residence. Elizabeth Norton, Bess Blount's biographer, calls their marriage "turbulent" and cites a "domestic quarrel" between them that came to the attention of the Privy Council on June 13, 1550. The couple acted together, however, on at least two court cases, in 1547 and 1552, against Elizabeth Gascoigne, Lady Talboys. In his 1552 will, Wymbish left his widow a life interest in some of his lands, as agreed to when they married, his bay gelding, and a few other items. She was not named as executor. Her second husband, to whom she was married by September 10, 1553, was Ambrose Dudley (1528-February 21, 1589/90). In late 1554, she commissioned Roger Ascham to write a Latin petition to Philip of Spain on her behalf to beg for Ambrose's release from the Tower. Four months later, she sent a thank you to Philip for freeing Ambrose and then asked for the restoration of her lands. She had no children and with her death the Talboys title became extinct.
see ELIZABETH BLOUNT; ELIZABETH GASCOIGNE
see MARGARET SKIPWITH
TALBOYS (d. before 1563)
Margaret Talboys or Tailboys was the daughter of Sir George Talboys of Kyme (1467-1538) and Elizabeth Gascoigne (c.1479-1559). She married Sir George Vernon of Haddon Hall, Derbyshire (1508-1567) and was the mother of Margaret and Dorothy (d.1584). Portrait: effigy on the Vernon tomb in All Saints Parish Church, Bakewell, Derbyshire, together with her husband and his second wife, Maud Longford.
TALKERNE (1518-September 1592)
Margaret Talkerne (Tolcarne/Talkorne/Tallakerne/Talkarne/Tolkarne) was the daughter of John Talkerne of Cambrose, Cornwall, Withersfield, Suffolk, and London (1495-1558) and Jane Bray. Between 1536 and 1540, she married Thomas Argall of London (1500-August 15, 1563) as his second wife. Argall bought the family’s principal country seat, East Sutton, Kent in 1546. Their children were Richard (d.1588), Anne (d.1599+), Edmund (1552-c.1572), Gabriel, John (d. October 6, 1606), Lawrence (d. February 1584), and Rowland (d.1602+). On June 21, 1564, Margaret married Sir Giles Alington of Horseheath, Cambridgeshire (June 1499-August 22, 1586) as his third wife. He settled Wymondley and other Hertfordshire lands on her at that time. As Lady Alington, she entertained Queen Elizabeth at Horseheath on the royal progress of 1578. She was left cash, plate, and other possessions by Alington and was one of his executors. Margaret was buried in the Church of St. Faith in the Virgin, Bermondsey, with her first husband.
Alice Tame was the daughter of Sir Edmund Tame of Fairford, Gloucestershire (d. October 1, 1534) and his first wife, Agnes Greville (d. July 26, 1506). She married Sir Thomas Verney of Compton Verney, Warwickshire. Their children were Richard (d. July 26, 1566/7), Peter, Timothy, Edmund, Thomas, and Elizabeth. She was coheiress in 1544 to her brother, Sir Edmund Tame. Portrait: stained glass at Compton Verney.
see ELIZABETH TYRINGHAM
TAME or TAMEWE
see MARY BROWNE
see CHRISTIAN or CHRISTIANA WALSINGHAM
see DOROTHY COLBY
see ELIZABETH DENKARING
see ELIZABETH SYMONDS
ELIZABETH TANFIELD (1585-October 1639)
Elizabeth Tanfield was the only child of Sir Lawrence Tanfield (c.1551-1625) and Elizabeth Symonds (d.1629). She was born at Burford Priory in Oxfordshire and tutored by John Davies of Hereford, a noted poet. She spoke French, Spanish, Italian, Hebrew, and Transylvanian, as well as Latin, and translated the epistles of Seneca and Abraham and Ortelius’s Le Miroir du Monde. In October 1602, she married Sir Henry Cary or Carey, later Viscount Falkland (c.1576-September 25,1633) but as he was a soldier in the Netherlands, she was left to her own devices and by 1604 had written two plays, one set in Sicily, which is now lost, and The Tragedie of Miriam, the faire Queene of Jewry, which became the first original play by an Englishwoman ever to be published when in came out in 1613/14. It was written in verse. In 1627, she wrote a third play, The History of the Life, Reign, and Death of Edward II, which was not published until 1680. Elizabeth’s marriage to Sir Henry Cary produced eleven children: Catherine (b.1609), Lucius, 2nd Viscount Falkland (1610-1643), Lawrence or Lorenzo (1613-1643), Anne (b.1614), Edward (b.1616), Elizabeth (b.1617), Lucy (b.1619), Victoria (b.1620), Mary (b.1622), Patrick (1624-1657), and another son in some genealogies as Henry and in others as Placid. In September 1625, when Elizabeth's husband learned of her plan to convert to Catholicism, he disowned her, cut off all financial support, and took her children away from her. They were partially reconciled by the time he died of gangrene from a wound in his leg and she was at his side in his final days. After his death, however, she actively worked to convert her children to Catholicism, even going so far as to hide some of them from her eldest son, who was their guardian. Three of her daughters eventually entered convents and two of her sons also took holy orders. She wrote a series of verses on the lives of saints. She also received a number of dedications from other writers, including Michael Drayton, John Davies of Hereford, and John Marston. Biography: The Tragedy of Mariam, the Fair Queen of Jewry with The Lady Falkland: Her Life by One of Her Daughters edited by Barry Weller and Margaret W. Ferguson; Oxford DNB entry under "Cary [née Tanfield], Elizabeth." Portraits: oil on canvas by William Larkin, c.1614-18 (inscribed Lady Dorothy Cary but probably Elizabeth Tanfield); painting by Paul Van Somer c.1620; engraving based on Van Somer's work; effigy in St. John the Baptist Church, Burford, Oxfordshire on the Tanfield tomb.
ALICE TANKERFELDE (x.March 31,1534)
Alice Tankerfelde’s origins are not known, but she gained notoriety for two things, her involvement in two murders and her escape from the Tower of London. Alice was married to John Wolff or Wolfe, a merchant of the Steelyard. On July 16, 1533, "by the Devil’s instigation," Alice participated in the murder of two foreign merchants, Jerome de George and Charles Benche. She was part of a conspiracy to murder and rob these "strangers." Her co-conspirators were her husband, a London gentleman named John Westall, and two yeomen, Robert Garrard and John Litchfield. Alice pretended to be a whore and lured the two foreigners into a house in Durham Rents in the Savoy section of London, where they “kept company” all afternoon. She kept them with her until after ten o’clock that night. Alice and Westall pretended they would escort the two to their lodging in St. Benet Gracechurch, at the house of Florentine merchant John Gerrald, and boarded a boat at Strand Stairs, but Litchfield and Garrard were the watermen and Wolff was hiding in the stern beneath some leather ordinarily used to cover the cushions on the boat. He waited until the boat was in the middle of the Thames, then rose up "and most maliciously struck the said Charles behind him in the back with his dagger to the heart." Charles Benche died immediately of "several deadly wounds." Then all four men attacked Jerome de George. He died of a broken neck. With their victims dead, the murderers stripped them of their clothes and all their valuables, tied the bodies back to back, weighted them with stones, and threw them overboard. Still not satisfied, Alice, Wolff, Westfall, and another gentleman named Stanley, broke into John Gerrald’s house to rob the dead men’s chamber. When the crime was discovered, Wolff is said by some sources to have escaped to Ireland, but Alice was arrested. Because of the location of the murder, she was tried by the Admiralty Court and sentenced to be hanged on the pirates’ gallows at Wapping Stairs. This was not a traditional hanging. She’d be left hanging in chains as the tide came in and drowned her. To make certain the tide was high enough, she’d be left there until three tides had flowed over her. Until the day of her execution, she was held in the Tower of London, in Coldharbor Tower, near the center of the complex. It boasted a gatehouse to the Inmost Ward and had a porter’s lodge within or nearby. The cylindrical towers were where prisoners were kept. Alice was held there at the same time as Elizabeth Barton, the Nun of Kent, imprisoned for heresy, and it is has been suggested by Barton’s biographer, Alan Neame, that the two women might have been confined together. Documents relating to both cases were apparently kept in the same file by Lord Cromwell. Neame also gives a slightly different slant to the story of Wolff and Alice in his The Holy Maid of Kent. He identifies Wolff as "an international swindler who had previously been imprisoned in the Tower at the request of the Hanse merchants. On release he removed to Ireland, returning to London in 1533." Neame calls Alice Wolff's common law wife and a whore and says she was involved with other men, including the Scots ambassador in London, the two merchants she helped kill, and one John Bawde, a henchman of the Lord Lieutenant of the Tower. She'd met Bawde in 1532, during Wolff's first incarceration. Neame goes on to say that Wolff was used as a spy while imprisoned the second time, since he shared a cell with Father Hugh Rich, one of those implicated with the Nun of Kent. In prison, Alice was supposed to have been kept shackled, but the Lord Lieutenant’s daughters, probably the two youngest, Alice (b.1517) and Eleanor (b.1521) Walsingham, took pity on her and asked that the shackles be removed. By late March, Alice had apparently charmed many of those charged with keeping her. One William Denys, a servant of Lord Lieutenant Sir Edmund Walsingham, was a frequent visitor and "showed her a secret way how she might be conveyed out of the Tower." After Denys was dismissed for fraternizing with a prisoner, John Bawde took his place. When she “heard there was no remedy with her but death” she begged Bawde to help her escape. Bawde agreed. He bought two hair ropes for 13d., made a ladder of cords, and carried this into the Tower concealed beneath his cloak. To Alice he gave a key he had filed down so that it would open the back of the outer prison door, that is the door that gave access to St. Thomas’s Tower. This tower, over what is now known as Traitor’s Gate, is lower than the main towers of the Tower of London. The moat, at this point, was narrow, and at low tide was often dry. There are reports of a later escape attempt (1547) through the garderobe in St. Thomas’s Tower, where it was possible to climb down to the moat and simply walk away. Details of Alice's escape survive in Alice’s confession and in a letter written by John Grenville to Lord Lisle on Saturday, March 28, 1534. The confession states that the door to the inner ward was "shut and hasped with a bone put through the staple, which door she saith she did shake and so the bone fell out." She then made her way to the outer ward and used the key Bawde had given her. They met on the leads of St. Thomas’s Tower at about ten at night. Grenville’s hearsay account is a little different. He says "On Friday about ij (two) of the clock in the morning one Bawde, sometimes the Lieutenant his servant, with counterfeit keys opened the prison door where Wolfe his wife was, and conveyed her out of the Tower with ij ropes tied to the embattlements: and after he had conveyed her down, went down himself to her and so together until they came to Tower Hill or thereabout, whereas stood certain watchmen of London." The confession reads: Bawde "cast the said ropes double upon a hook of iron being fastened upon the same Tower wall, and so slid down." On the wharf below, they hid on a lighter for an hour. Then Bawde found a boat and rowed them to the water-stairs at the end of the Tower causeway. They were walking up Tower Hill toward a Mrs. Jenyn’s house, where Bawde had left two horses, when they encountered the Watch. By Grenville’s account, Alice was "apparelled like a man" and for this reason the Watch was suspicious and took both Alice and Bawde into custody and took them to the Lord Lieutenant. He also writes that, on Tuesday, "Wolfe and his wife shall hang upon Thames at low water mark in chains. And Bawde is in Little Ease, and after he hath been in the Rack shall be hanged." Bawde was actually held in the Counter, one of London’s prisons, until he could be identified. According to Neame, on the Tuesday of Holy Week (March 31), John and Alice Wolff were escorted from the Tower and hanged at the "Turning Tree." Alice was not cut down until "beastly and filthy wretches had most shamefully abused her being dead."
TARLTON (1508-c.1588/9) (maiden name unknown)
Katherine Tarlton was the mother of the comic actor Richard Tarlton (1530-September 3, 1588). Tarlton is said to have been born in Condover, Shropshire and then moved to Ilford, Essex, but facts about his family are sketchy. Katherine's name survives because in the will Tarlton made on his deathbed he gave joint custody of his "natural and well beloved son Philip,” godson of Sir Philip Sidney, to his mother, Robert Adams, and William Johnson. No sooner had he signed this will than he had second thoughts about Adams and wrote a letter to Sir Francis Walsingham in which he called Adams "a sly fellow" and expressed the fear that Adams would try to get the estate away from Katherine and Philip. In this letter, Tarlton identified his mother as "a sillie old widow of forscore years of age" and Philip as "a pore infant of the age of six yeares." In a letter from Adams to Walsingham dated three days later, on September 6, 1588, Adams claimed Tarlton send for him during his last illness. The summary of this letter in the Calendar of State Papers mistakenly identifies Katherine as the widow of Richard Tarlton instead of as his mother. Tarlton had married Thomasyn Dunn in Chelmsford on February 11, 1577 but she had died in 1585. On October 23, 1588, Katherine brought suit in Chancery against Adams. The grant of administration of the will to Adams was revoked and regranted, on February 21, 1589, to Helen Barnard, sister of the deceased. It seems likely that Katherine had died in the interim and that her daughter was her heir.
see DOROTHY KYTSON
see JANE WEST
see LETTICE CRESSY
see ANNE SAUNDERS
see ELIZABETH ZOUCHE
see MAGDALEN HARPENDEN
see MAUD CURZON
see ISABEL WARSOP
see ANNE BENNETT
Rebecca Taylor was the only daughter of Robert Taylor (d. December 31,1596), alderman of London, and Elizabeth Hatton (d. June 2, 1603). On February 5, 1582, she married Sir William Romney (c.1555-April 25,1611), a haberdasher and member of the Merchant Adventurers who was later Governor of the East India Company, at St. Magnus the Martyr, London. They had six sons and two daughters—Isaac, Susan (d.1659), Joseph (d.1645), Jeremy, Elizabeth, Daniel, Ezekiel, and William—plus other children who died young. Romney’s wealth at his death is estimated at around £15,000. Rebecca willed four exhibitions of £12 each to the Haberdashers’ Company, two at Emmanuel College and two at Sidney-Sussex College. She also left £6 a year to two freemen of the company and £3 a year to four poor widows.
see LAVINA BENING
ANNE TEMMES (d. 1602)
Anne Temmes (Temys/Temmse) was the daughter of Thomas Temmes of West Ashling, Sussex (d. February 12, 1575) and Elizabeth Bowes (d.1544+). She married William Jordyn of Chitterne, Wiltshire (d. January 11, 1602), by whom she had five sons and two daughters including William (c.1566-1623), Temys (son), and Mary. Her husband's will, dated February 9, 1598 and proved January 23, 1602, left her the wool in his house, his coach and horses, money, household stuff, and livestock. It also contained the provision that should she remarry ("as God forbid, considering her years past childbearing") she would receive an annuity of £80. Anne died six months after her husband. She had already given her eldest son the right to succeed to his father's entire estate, except for bequests to his four younger brothers, but she left bequests to others, including several books. Anne's aunt had been the last abbess of Lacock, but the titles indicate that Anne adopted the New Religion—John Calvin's Institutes and Exposition of Job; Peter Martyr's Commonplaces; a Bible; and "Doctor Fulkes Answers to the Roman Testaments."
JOAN TEMMES (d.1553+)
Joan Temmes (Temys/Temmse) was the daughter of William Temmes of Rood Ashton, Wiltshire and Joan Baynard (d. before March 9, 1533/4). She was abbess of Lacock by 1516 until it was surrendered on January 21, 1539. Between 1536 and 1539, Joan leased out the abbey's demesne land to members of her own family—her brothers Robert, Christopher, and Thomas, her brother-in-law, Robert Bath, and her cousin, Sir Edward Baynton, whose sister, Elizabeth Baynton, was one of the fifteen nuns and three novices at Lacock. Christopher was steward of her household and Thomas an official of the abbey. Joan was granted a generous pension of £40, which she was still collecting in 1553.
ALICE TEMPEST (c.1534-October 20, 1588)
Alice Tempest was the daughter of Nicholas Tempest of Stanley, Holmside, and Stella, Durham (c.1486-November 20, 1539) and Agnes Marley. She married three times, first to Sir Christopher Place of Halnaby, Yorkshire (d.1558), second, with a contract dated January 20, 1560/1, to Walter Strickland of Sizergh Castle, Westmorland and Thornton Bridge, Yorkshire (April 5, 1516-April 8, 1569), and third, in June 1573, to Sir Thomas Boynton of Barmston and Acklam, Yorkshire (1537-1583), as his fourth wife. By her first marriage, Alice had five daughters, Anne, Eleanor, Elizabeth, Isabel (d.1577), and Dorothy (d.1632). One William Wickliffe bought their wardships after Place died. Walter Strickland bought the wardship of the youngest daughter, Dorothy, from Wickliffe in 1566 and that of Isabel Place in 1568. In 1535, long before he married Alice, Strickland was betrothed to Margaret Hamerton, daughter of Sir Stephen Hamerton (x. May 25, 1537) and Elizabeth Bigod (will dated May 3, 1538). Margaret apparently killed herself before the marriage could take place. The biography of Walter Strickland at tudorplace.com.ar presents the case for Walter having then married Margaret's sister Anne or Agnes by June 1537 and suggests that Agnes Hamerton was the mother of Walter's daughter, Ellen or Eleanor (c.1557-1622+). Agnes was supposedly still living in 1585, locked away in a tower at Sizergh Castle known as "Madam Hamerton's Room." Strickland's will, however, refers to Ellen as his natural daughter and Alice's will, written on January 18, 1586 and proved March 24, 1595, which left £10 to Ellen, calls her the "base daughter to my husband, Mr. Strickland." Whether she was Agnes Hamerton's daughter or not is unclear, as is any solid proof that Madam Hamerton was Walter's wife. A second marriage would have been bigamous under English law at the time. Divorce was permitted but not remarriage. It seems more logical to assume that Ellen was illegitimate, the child of an unknown mother, and that the chamber was so named because some relative of Walter's betrothed, possibly but not necessarily a sister, lived there. It is even possible, given the evidence cited, that Walter did marry Margaret before her death, betrothals often being as binding as formal weddings. Strickland left legacies to his two daughters but all his property went to his widow for life. After Alice's third marriage, she and her new husband lived at Sizergh Castle, raising her Strickland children, Sir Thomas (1563-June 19, 1612) and Alice, and Strickland's daughter Ellen. Thomas's wardship and marriage had been granted to William Cooke in 1569, but Alice bought them back. Sizergh Castle had been enlarged during the time Alice lived there with her second husband and she continued to renovate until, after the death of her third husband, she moved to Halnaby, Yorkshire. In 1586, she released all interest in lands in Westmorland and Yorkshire to her son.
Anne Tempest, daughter of Sir John Tempest of Great Houghton, Yorkshire (1472-January 4, 1509) and Joan Roos (1487-March 8, 1537), married Sir Edward Boleyn (c.1496-1530) in 1515 or 1516, thus making her Queen Anne Boleyn’s aunt. As Lady Boleyn, she was at the Field of Cloth of Gold in 1520. Originally, I identified Anne Tempest as the Lady Boleyn who spied on her niece in the Tower of London in 1536, charged with reporting every word the queen said to the authorities. Retha Warnicke's The Rise and Fall of Anne Boleyn agrees with this identification and calls Anne one of Catherine of Aragon's former attendants. Alison Weir's The Lady in the Tower identifies this Lady Boleyn as Elizabeth Wood, wife of Sir James Boleyn, another of Thomas Boleyn's brothers. In her Mary Boleyn, however, she says Anne Tempest was the Lady Boleyn who was one of Catherine's ladies in 1510. She gives her a birthdate of 1497, but even if this is correct, Anne was not yet Lady Boleyn. According the Elizabeth Norton in her biography of Bessie Blount, "Lady Boleyn" received a gift of russet damask to be furred "with good mink" by a warrant of November 20, 1514, but, confusingly, Norton identifies the gift as going to four of the queen's chamberers, while at the same time identifying Lady Boleyn as Elizabeth Howard. In fact, the queen's four chamberers, on November 18, 1514, were Elizabeth Collins, Blanche Merbury, Margaret Mulshoo, and Elizabeth Vargas. Lady Boleyn was also proxy for the queen in 1517 at the christening of Frances Brandon. Traditionally the Lady Boleyn at court early in the reign was thought to be Elizabeth Howard. It could be either Anne Tempest or Elizabeth Wood in the queen's household in 1533. To confuse matters even further, one online site gives Anne Tempest a date of death of 1521. Yet another gives November 1520 as the date of her marriage. Most records seem to agree that she had four daughters by Sir Edward, all born before 1522. They were Mary, Ursula, Elizabeth, and Anne (or Amy).
Dousabella Tempest was the daughter of Sir Richard Tempest of Stainforth, Giggleswick, in Ribbesdale, West Riding, Yorkshire (c.1408-February 1488/9) and Mabel Strickland. She was the first wife of Thomas, 1st baron Darcy of Templehurst (c.1467-x. June 30, 1538). She gave him three sons, Sir George Darcy of Aston (d.1558), Richard, and Sir Arthur Darcy (d.1561), and a daughter, Mabel. She died before December 7, 1499, when her husband remarried. I include her in this listing because she has a somewhat unique name for the era. She was apparently named for a grandmother, whose given name is recorded as Douce. In this age of reprints and Google Books, the reader should also be aware that the information given with the letter from "D. Darcy" included in Mary Anne Everett Green's Letters of Royal and Illustrious Ladies and dated 1537, is incorrect. This letter, written to the author's husband "from Gaitforth, the 13th day of January" does not give a year. Ms. Green, writing in the nineteenth century, identified her as Dousabella and as Darcy's second wife. Unfortunately, this does not fit with the facts as we now know them. There are two possibilities. Either the letter was written by Dousabella at a much earlier date, or the D. Darcy in question is Dorothy Melton, the wife of Dousabella's son, George Darcy. Some genealogies incorrectly give Dousabella's date of death as between 1503 and 1520.
see KATHERINE WARNEFORD
see MARY SOMER
see MARGARET ELLERBEK
see MAUD STONE
MARTHA THARPE (d.1609+)
Martha Tharpe was the daughter of William Tharpe or Thorpe of Rye, a draper. On June 5, 1607, she married Thomas Hamon or Hammond, mayor of Rye (d. July 27, 1607) as his second wife. He was a brewer and one of the richest men in town. A little over a month after the marriage, on July 13, 1607, Hamon became violently ill. He took two weeks to die. Within three weeks, Martha married his successor as mayor, Thomas Higgons (d.1608). Soon after, she was charging that her first husband had been bewitched to death by Anne Taylor (née Bennett), a local healer currently suspected of having aided and abetted another woman in consulting spirits (a felony since 1604). Martha theorized that Anne had come to her door disguised as a beggar and thus obtained possession of one of Hamon's old shirt sleeves. Anne Taylor was acquitted in 1609 (see the entry under Anne Bennett for more details), by which time Martha was again a widow. No one seems to have suspected her of doing away with either husband. In fact, she was soon married to yet another prominent Rye merchant, Mark Thomas, who dealt in canvas, draperies, and wine and owned property in Playden and East Guldeford as well as in Rye. Thomas had a son, also named Mark, but I have not been able to determine if Martha was his mother.
see MARTHA THARPE
see THOMASIN MILDMAY
JOAN THORNBURY (c.1530-1598)
Joan Thornbury was the daughter of William Thornbury/Thornburg (c.1510-November 18, 1552) and Thomasine Bellingham (c.1512-August 11, 1582). Her portrait was painted in 1566 as one of a set with her soon-to-be husband, Richard Wakeman of Bickford, Gloucestershire (1523-1597) and the two paintings contain lines of text which amount to a dialogue between the two sitters. Joan's reads, in modern English: My childhood past that beautified my flesh/and gone my youth that gave me color fresh/I am now come to those ripe years at last/ that tells me how my wanton days be past/ and therefore find so turns the time/I once was young and now am as you see. Analysis of these lines and those on Richard Wakeman's portrait can be found in a number of books, some of which are available online. They were married in 1567, when Joan was about thirty-seven, so it is uncertain if Wakeman's three known children, John, another son, and Anne or Agnes (d.1592) were hers. Anne Wakeman married in 1581. If she was Joan's daughter, then she was no more than thirteen when she wed. Portrait: 1566, attributed to Hans Eworth.
see BRIDGET MILL
see MARY GIFFARD
(maiden name unknown)
Agnes Thornton was the wife of William Thornton, a merchant. She traded as a femme sole in London. In c. 1530, she bought several packs of canvas worth £30 14d from Peter Malyarde, merchant of Rouen.
see ANNE PIERREPONT
see MARTHA DORSETT
Anne Throckmorton is variously said to have been of the family of Buckland, Berkshire (more likely) or the daughter of Robert Throckmorton of Coughton, Warwickshire (1451-1518) and Catherine Marrow. She married William Barker (c.1500-September 18, 1549), steward of the bishop of Salisbury. They lived at Holme Place in Sonning, Berkshire. Their only child was a daughter, Anne (d. September 21, 1585). In the will Barker wrote on August 18, 1549 (proved June 4, 1551), he left Anne “my part of my lease of Sonynge Park and Vernhill during her widowhood and to continue in house with my brother Anthonye Barker." She also received, with her daughter, all of his plate. In the will of her brother-in-law, John Barker, written August 25, 1551 and proved May 11, 1552, a legacy was left to "sister Ann Barker, late wife of brother William and to my cosyn Bridge [Brydges] her daughter." Anne is also likely to be the "my sister Barker of Sonnynge" mentioned in the August 4, 1551 will (proved June 20, 1553) of Anthony Barker, "clarke and vicar of Sonnynge." 1551 was the year when an epidemic of "the sweat" swept through England, killing thousands, and it is possible that Anne herself died in that year. Portrait: monumental brass in St. Michael's, Sonning.
see ANNE CAREW; ANNE LUCAS; ANNE SUTTON
(1540-December 16, 1603)
Anne Throckmorton was the daughter of Sir Robert Throckmorton of Weston Underwood, Buckinghamshire (1510-February 12, 1581) and Muriel Berkeley (d.1542) She was raised by her stepmother, Elizabeth Hussey, who bore Anne's father several children, including another daughter named Anne (d.1605+). The Anne Throckmorton of this entry married Ralph Sheldon of Beoley, Worcestershire (1537-1613), her third cousin. Their children were William, Elizabeth (c.1553-October 23, 1622), Philippa, Anne, Edward (1561-1643), Mary, Muriel, Jane, Margaret, Catherine, and Frances. The family remained Catholic in Elizabeth Tudor's England and built the Sheldon chapel in St. Leonard's church at Beoley for private worship. Portrait: tomb effigy at Beoley.
see CATHERINE BUTLER
ELIZABETH THROCKMORTON (d. January 13, 1547)
Elizabeth Throckmorton was the daughter of Thomas Throckmorton of Coughton, Warwickshire (1412-July 13, 1472) and Margaret Olney. She became a nun in the Order of Minoresses and by 1512 was abbess of the house of Poor Clares at Denny, near Cambridge, where she supervised twenty-five nuns. Erasmus may have visited there in 1513. He definitely exchanged letters with the community in 1525. In 1536, Elizabeth petitioned for the continuation of the abbey but it was dissolved by1539. At that time, she returned to Coughton, now the property of her nephew, George Throckmorton (d. August 6, 1552), bringing with her two or three of her nuns. They lived in an upper room, wearing their habits and following the rules of their order. Elizabeth and two of the nuns, possibly her nieces, Margaret and Joyce Throckmorton, daughters of Sir Robert, are buried together at Coughton. Another nun, Joanna Peyto, granddaughter of Elizabeth's sister Goditha, may also have lived with Elizabeth at Coughton Court. Elizabeth made her will in 1543, from which we learn that she had a servant, Katheryn Tanner.
see ELIZABETH HUSSEY; ELIZABETH ROGERS
ELIZABETH THROCKMORTON (April 16, 1565-1647)
Elizabeth Throckmorton was the daughter of Sir Nicholas Throckmorton (1515-1571) and Anne Carew (d. 1587). She lived with her mother until she went to court as a maid of honor. She was sworn in at Hampton Court on November 8, 1584. In June 1591, she secretly wed Sir Walter Raleigh (1552-October 28, 1618). A son, Damerei (March 29,1592-October 1592), was born at Mile End, her brother Arthur's house. He was baptized on April 10, with Robert Devereux, earl of Essex, Arthur Throckmorton, and Arthur's wife, Anna Lucas, as godparents, then sent to Enfield to a Throckmorton relative while Elizabeth returned to court on April 12.The marriage could not be kept secret and the queen imprisoned both husband and wife for daring to marry without permission. She considered it particularly egregious that Elizabeth had returned to her post as a maid of honor after giving birth to a child. In the Tower that autumn, Elizabeth was ill and kept separated from her husband. She wrote to Sir Moyle Finch and his wife (Elizabeth Heneage) hoping they would prevail upon Lady Finch's father, Sir Thomas, the queen's vice chamberlain, to plead her case. Encouraged by the response she got, she then wrote to Heneage himself and to Sir Robert Cecil. She was released on December 22,1592 and wanted to return to court but she was never allowed to. She lived at Mile End or at Sherborne and bore two more children, Walter (1593-1617/18) and Carew (February 1605-1666). By the time Carew was born, Raleigh had been convicted of treason and was being held in the Tower of London, where he remained until 1616. At Elizabeth’s urging, he had backed a conspiracy to put Lady Arbella Stuart on the throne. Elizabeth eventually moved into the Tower with him and her son was born there in February of 1605. Thanks largely to Elizabeth's efforts, King James paid her £8000 in cash and an annuity of £400 for Sherborne in 1608. She was less successful in obtaining repayment of a loan of £500 (Elizabeth's marriage portion) that her mother made to the earl of Huntingdon when Elizabeth was still a child. In 1616, Raleigh was released to lead an expedition to Guiana. When this was a spectacular failure, he was returned to the Tower and executed under his original conviction for treason. Elizabeth is said to have had his head embalmed and to have kept it with her in a red leather bag until her death. Biography: Bess by Anna Beer; Karen Robertson, "Negotiating Favour: the Letters of Lady Ralegh" in Women and Politics in Early Modern England, 1450-1500, edited by James Daybell, and "Tracing Women's Connections from a Letter by Elizabeth Ralegh" in Maids and Mistresses, Cousins and Queens, edited by Susan Frye and Karen Robertson. Portraits: as a young woman, c. 1591; in middle age, c. 1603; in widowhood with her son Carew, c. 1619; others not authenticated.
GODITHA THROCKMORTON (1459-1530)
Goditha or Godith (sometimes called Judith) Throckmorton was the daughter of Sir Thomas Throckmorton of Fladbury, Worcestershire (c.1412-1472) and Margaret Olney (1426-1460). She married Edward Peyto of Chesterton, Warwickshire (c.1457-September 14, 1487). They had four sons and one daughter, including John (c.1478-1542) and William (c.1485-1558). At the time her husband died, only a month after the death of his father, they were living at Fladbury with her brother, Robert Throckmorton (c.1451-1518). Her eldest son became the ward of his uncle. As dower, Goditha claimed forty-two virgates of the manor of Chesterton, worth twenty marks, one third of the manor of Wolfhamcok, and the advowson of the manor of Barton on Heath, even though the manor itslef had passed out of the family in the 1470s. Goditha owned a number of books, including a religious collection known as the Worcestershire Miscellany. She gave a copy of Caxton's Royal Book to her niece, Elizabeth Throckmorton Englefield (d.1543), daughter of her brother Robert. In her will, dated December 28, 1530 and proved January 30, 1531, she left a copy of the Legenda Aurea to her chaplain and to her "cousin, Mary Burdett, a little featherbed, a pair of blankets, a heling of image work, my psalter book, my gown furred with marten, and a bolster." Another bequest was "to the farmer's wife"—"my best gown furred with black, and one of my best smocks." Margaret Cleyton, her maid, received "20 pieces of pewter vessel, my best kirtle, my new little mattress, the blankets, the sheets, & the coverlet of her bed, my best tablecloth, a pewter basin called the posset basin . . . 20s of money; . . . her wages that is behind, and for her heirs 30s, also a frying-pan, a posnet, a trivet, a shilet, the old green say, a candlestick with 2 noses." For the entire will, see http://www.oxford-shakespeare.com. Portrait: monumental brass at Fladbury, but this was vandalized centuries ago and what is there now is a modern replacement.
(August 21, 1580-1605+)
Jane Throckmorton was the daughter of Robert Throckmorton of Warboys and Ellington, Huntingdonshire (October 1, 1551-January 12, 1630/1) and Elizabeth Pickering. Her seizures, possibly epileptic, in November 1589, were responsible for the persecution of Mrs. Alice Samuel and her execution as a witch. In 1605, Jane married Thomas Morley.
see JUDITH TRACY
see KATHERINE VAUX
Margaret Throckmorton was the daughter of Richard Throckmorton or Throgmorton of Higham Ferrers, Northamptonshire (d. 1547) and Jane Beaufo. She married Robert Pemberton of Rushden, Northamptonshire and Lancashire (d.1594). In many accounts, Margaret Pemberton is identified as the subject of a water color on a playing card painted by Hans Holbein the Younger in c.1540. This portrait, now in the Victoria and Albert Museum, is actually Jane, daughter of Christopher Pemberton, the wife of Nicholas Small. Margaret had two children, Robert and Anne (d.1614).
MARGARET THROCKMORTON (d.1607+)
Margaret Throckmorton was the daughter of Sir Thomas Throckmorton of Tortworth, Gloucestershire (1538/9-January 31, 1607) and Ellen Berkeley (d. before 1559). In 1593, she was committed to the custody of the Dean of Gloucester as a "verie obstinate Recusant." Her mother (actually her stepmother, Elizabeth Rogers) was blamed for "perverting" her children, since Sir Thomas was a Protestant. He left her a small annuity when he died.
MARGARET THROCKMORTON (c.1566-1600+)
Margaret Throckmorton was the third daughter of Sir Thomas Throckmorton (1533-1615) and Margaret Whorwood (d. April 1607). Margaret married Rice Griffin of Bickmarsh and Brome Court in c.1592 and received Moor Hall, Warwickshire as part of her dowry, although it was still occupied by Agnes Throckmorton (née Wilford) at that time. She mediated between her husband and her father in a dispute over this property. Her children were Edward, Nicholas, Thomas, and Lucy Griffin.
MARGARET THROCKMORTON (1591-1668)
Margaret Throckmorton was the eldest daughter of John Throckmorton (d.1604) and Agnes Wilford (1570-c.1647). She went to live with Sir William Roper and his wife Margaret (neé Browne) as a companion to their daughter Anne but after Lady Roper took her to visit her aunt, Barbara Wilford, a nun at the Augustinian convent of St. Monica in Louvain, Margaret went against the wishes of her family and joined the order herself in 1611. In 1633, she was named prioress. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under “Throckmorton, Margaret” (with portrait).
see MARGERY or MARGARET PUTTENHAM
see MARY BRYDGES; MARY MORE
Mary Throckmorton was the daughter of Sir Robert Throckmorton of Weston Underwood, Buckinghamshire (1510-February 12, 1581) and Muriel Berkeley (d.1542) She was raised by her stepmother, Elizabeth Hussey. She married Edward Arden of Park Hall, Warwickshire (1533-x. December 20, 1583), by whom she had Margaret (d.1583+), Catherine (d. November 20, 1627) and Robert (d. February 27, 1635). The family clung to the Catholic faith into the reign of Elizabeth Tudor. Mary's daughter Margaret married one John Somerville, another Recusant. According to his entry in the Oxford DNB, Somerville was ill in bed at his father-in-law's house on October 24, 1583. The next day, perhaps feverish, he got up and started for London, swearing that he would shoot the queen with a pistol. He was quickly arrested and so were Mary and Edward Arden and their priest. They were taken to the Tower of London, charged with treason. On December 16, 1583, the Ardens, Somerville, and the priest were condemned to death. Arden bribed a servant in the Tower to allow him to have a last meal with Mary that evening. By the 19th, he and Somerville had been moved to Newgate and on December 20, Arden was executed at Smithfield. Afterward, Mary was released. I have seen one reference to Arden as Mary's first husband but no indication as to who she might later have married or when. In September 1592, she was presented as a recusant from the parish of Coughton, together with her servant, John Browne. In 1593, Coughton was searched and Mary imprisoned and examined.
MARY THROCKMORTON (d.1607+)
Mary Throckmorton was the unmarried daughter of Sir Thomas Throckmorton (1533-1615) and Margaret Whorwood (d. April 1607). According to the essay "Reputation, Credit and Patronage: Throckmorton Men and Women, c. 1560-1620" by Susan Cogan (in Catholic Gentry in English Society: The Throckmortons of Coughton from Reformation to Emancipation, edited by Peter Marshall and Geoffrey Scott), Mary functioned as de facto estate manager for her father at Weston Underwood, Buckinghamshire. After her mother died, she assisted her father in running his estates and took over when he was in prison for recusancy.
Mary Throckmorton was the daughter of Thomas Throckmorton of Tortwroth, Gloucestershire (1538/9-January 31, 1607) and Ellen or Elizabeth Berkeley. Her father accused her and her stepmother (Elizabeth Rogers) of being "addicted to Popery." Her first husband was Sir Thomas Baskerville of Bayworth in the parish of Sunningwell, Berkshire (d. June 4, 1597). It is not certain when they married, but it seems to have been a love match. Letters he wrote to her survive, some addressed to his “sweet Moll.” Unfortunately, none of her replies are extant. Mary accompanied her husband to Picardy, where she gave birth to their only child, a son named Hannibal (April 5, 1597-1668) in St. Valery. The earl of Essex was the boy’s godfather. Less than two months later, Baskerville died of a fever. On June 28, 1599, Mary wed Sir James Scudamore (1568-April 13, 1619), as his second wife. Although they had nine children, including Mary (c.1600-1629), Sir John (1601-1671) and Sir Barnabas (c.1609-1651/2), the marriage was already in difficulty by 1604 and Sir James repudiated his wife in 1608. There was no divorce and legal wrangling continued for the the rest of her life. Scudamore tried to claim wardship of Hannibal Baskerville and Mary’s dower. By 1621, the case had finally been settled in Hannibal’s favor. Mary was buried at Sunningwell, Berkshire. Portrait: by Marcus Gheeraerts the Younger c.1615, possibly on the occasion of the marriage of John Scudamore (March 12, 1614/5).
MERIAL THROCKMORTON (d. 1615)
Merial or Murial Throckmorton was the daughter of Sir Robert Throckmorton of Coughton, Warwickshire (d.1581) and Murial Berkeley. In 1566 she married her father’s ward, Thomas Tresham of Rushton Hall (1543/4-September 11, 1605), who had succeeded his grandfather to a very large fortune in 1559. They had eleven children, three of whom died young, including Francis (1567-December 23, 1605), Thomas (d.1574), Lewis (1578-1639), William (d.1639), Frances, Elizabeth (1573-1648), Catherine (1576-1623), Mary (d.1664), Anne (d.1629), and Bridget. The Treshams were recusants and Sir Thomas was more than once imprisoned for his faith. In April 1582, he was released from the Fleet after twenty months of close confinement there and put under house arrest in a house in the parish of Hoxton, just outside London, one right next to a more comfortable house that Tresham himself owned. He entered into a bond of £2000 not to go out of the house that was his prison, but his wife could visit him there. During at least part of this time, Lady Thresham lived in Tuthill Street in Westminster. On August 27, 1584, the authorities raided Sir Thomas’s house in Hoxton. Present at the time were Tresham, his wife, his daughters Frances, Catherine, and Elizabeth, his son Lewis, and a number of servants. Many more details are given in Godfrey Anstruther’s Vaux of Harrowden but in essence the persecution continued. Tresham was still confined to Hoxton when, on March 21, 1590, Merial wrote to Lord Burghley asking that he might be moved to Banbury, nearer to Rushton, for his health.
see ROSE LOCKE
see THOMASIN DERHAM
see ANNE KNYVETT
see JOAN LINCOLN
MARY THURSBY or THORESBY
see MARY NEVILLE
ELEANOR THURSBYE (d.1592+)
Eleanor Thursbye (Thorsby/Thursby) was at the center of a scandal in London in 1592. Unfortunately, nothing else is known about her. It appears that George Southcote of Shillingford, Devon (1572-1638) fell in love with her sometime in 1591, when he was not yet twenty years old. According to Southcote's entry in the History of Parliament, a scapegoat was found in the person of Stephen Trefulack and George was disentangled from an unacceptable alliance. The official record states only that Trefulack was executed for witchcraft in Middlesex in December 1592 because he "betwitched George Southcote to provoke him to unlawful love for Elianore Thursbye." The fate of Eleanor is not recorded.
MARGARET THURSTON (x.1557) (maiden name unknown)
In March 1557, Margaret and John Thurston of Much (Great) Bentley, Essex were arrested as part of Queen Mary’s persecution of Protestants. They were imprisoned in Colchester Castle, where Thurston died. Several months after her arrest, Margaret was burned at the stake along with co-religionists John Johnstone, Agnes Bongeor, William Bongeor, William Purcas, Thomas Benold, Agnes Silverside, Helen Ewing, Elizabeth Foulkes, William Mount, and Rose Allen. This earned her a place among the Protestant martyrs.
FRANCES THWAITE (1519-October 1580)
Frances Thwaite was the daughter of Sir Henry Thwaite of Lund, East Riding, Yorkshire (1494-July 5, 1521) and Anne Savile. In 1538, she married John Gresham of London (1516-1560), by whom she had Francis (b.1539) and Elizabeth (1542-November 6, 1573). The family lived in the parish of St. Lawrence Jewry, London in 1539. Elizabeth Gresham married Sir Henry Neville of Billingbear, Berkshire (d. January 13, 1593) as his second wife and was the mother of his children Elizabeth, Sir Henry (1564-1615), Edward (1567-1608+), Francis, Katherine, and William. It seems likely that Frances lived with her daughter and son-in-law, since the monument he erected in the church at Waltham St. Lawrence, Berkshire features her effigy as well as his own and those of her daughter and her granddaughter, Elizabeth Neville. The four kneeling figures are difficult to see as they are hidden behind the organ in the north chapel.
see ANNE ST. LEGER
WINIFRED THWAITES (d.1591)
Winifred Thwaites was the daughter and heir of Sir William Thwaites of “Mallowtree” (Manningtree?), Oulton, Essex and Alice Garneys. On November 20, 1544, she became the second wife of Sir George Pierrepont of Whaley, Derbyshire and Holme Pierrepont, Nottinghamshire (June 14, 1510-March 21, 1564). Their children were Isabella, Henry (September 18, 1546-1616), Anne (d.c.1587/8), Gervaise, and William. Upon her husband's death, the heir became the ward of Roger Manners, uncle of the 5th earl of Rutland, but in May 1565, after Winifred married Sir Gervaise Clifton of Clifton, Hodsock, and Wilford, Nottinghamshire (1516-January 20, 1588), a friend and neighbor who was also executor of Pierrepont's will, Clifton became his guardian. By Clifton, Winifred had one son, George, who died young. Clifton's will, written October 15, 1587, left the manors of Carlton and Hodsock to Winifred, along with all other lands in that area and all jewelry and apparel in her possession at the time of his death. It also mentions all four of her children by her first marriage. Winifred was a recusant. She was buried at Clifton, Nottinghamshire on December 10, 1591.
ANNE THWING (d.1594+)
Anne Thwing was the daughter of Thomas Thwing of Heworth Hall, Yorkshire and Elizabeth Hellet. Her brother William inherited Heworth Hall but Anne was the one who lived there and she was the one who invited priests to celebrate Mass. One was arrested during a raid on February 1, 1593. Anne was not taken into custody but her brother was accused of harboring and for that crime might have lost Heworth Hall. According to Roland Connelly’s Women of the Catholic Resistance 1540-1680, this was because Henry Hastings, 3rd earl of Huntingdon had seen the house during the raid and wanted it for himself. Whatever the motivation, Anne went to court and saved her brother and Heworth Hall by testifying that she was the one who’d harbored the priest and that William had known nothing about it. She was arrested and imprisoned and was still alive the following year but her ultimate fate is unknown.
see ANNE BOND
see CHRISTIAN GRESHAM
see DOROTHY WROUGHTON
see JOAN HAYWARD
KATHERINE THYNNE (d. c.1615)
Katherine Thynne was the fourth daughter of Sir John Thynne of Longleat (1512/13-May 21,1580) and his first wife, Christian Gresham (d. before 1566), although that would make her rather old by the time she married. It is possible her mother was second wife Dorothy Wroughton (c.1548-1616). Either way, Katherine served as a maid of honor to Queen Elizabeth until about 1594, when she married Sir Walter Long of Wraxhall, Wiltshire (1560-September 28, 1610) as his second wife. They had at least four sons, Walter (June 9, 1594-c.1637), Henry (d.1672), Thomas (d.1673), and Robert (1598-July 13, 1673), and six daughters. Various online lists of children include the names Barbara, Mary, Charles, Anne, Frances, Jane, Dorothy, Olivia, and Elizabeth. Long was a colorful character who both served a term as sheriff of Wiltshire and spent time in prison. A long-running feud with the Danvers family ended with the murder of his brother Henry on October 4, 1594. Long's eldest son, John, claimed that Katherine and her brother, Egremont Thynne, persuaded Long to disinherit John in favor of her eldest son, Walter. Long's will, dated December 20 and 25, 1609, was exceedingly complex and led to a later compromise by which John inherited Draycot Cerne and Walter, whose wardship was awarded to Katherine, got Wraxhall. Although Katherine was administrator of Long's will, she did not perform those duties, nor did she pay his debts. As her second husband, Katherine married Sir Edward Fox of Gwernoga, Montgomeryshire c.1611/12. Some accounts give his name as Hugh Fox. Prior to the marriage she insisted upon an agreement leaving her son's wardship in her keeping. According to John Aubrey, Katherine promised her first husband that she would not remarry and when she entered her home with Fox after the nuptials, a portrait of Long fell off the wall in protest. Katherine wrote her will in about 1615. It included the request that the wardship of her son be transferred to her second husband..
see MARIA TOUCHET
JANE TICHBORNE (c.1548-1581+)
Jane Tichborne was the daughter of Nicholas Tichborne of Tichborne, Hampshire (c.1518-1555) and Elizabeth Rythe (by 1520-1571+). She married, as his second wife, Francis Yate of Lyford Grange, Berkshire (1548-1588), whose first wife, Frances White, was her second cousin. They had a son, Thomas (c.1570-c.1656). A full account of the visit by Edmund Campion to Lyford Grange in 1581 may be found at http://www.berkshirehistory.com/articles/campion_lyford.html, which identifies Jane as the Mrs. Yate then in residence. Her insistence that Campion preach to those in the house, even though soldiers had just searched the premises for hidden priests, led to his arrest at dawn on July 17, 1581. Accounts differ as to how many were taken off to prison. Francis Yate had been arrested for recusancy the previous year and was still being held in Reading, but his brother, Edward Yate, was among those arrested on the 17th. Jane herself spent time in prison in London, although the dates of her incarceration are uncertain, but on this occasion the women, including eight former nuns who had been living at Lyford Grange for many years, were not charged.
MARY TICHBORNE (1541/2-1565+)
Mary Tichborne was the daughter of Richard Tichborne of Eatonbridge, Kent and Thomasine Seyliard. She married Thomas Potter of Westerham, Kent (c.1535-January 21, 1611) in Westerham Parish Church on November 14, 1559. Their children were Nizell, Lucrece, Ursula, and Dorothy. Only Dorothy survived past the age of twenty-one. Portrait: 1565 at age 23 by the Master of the Countess of Warwick; effigy in Westerham Church.
see MALYN CHAMBRE
see MARY COTTON
Ursula Tilsworth was one of three daughters of William Tilsworth or Tillesworth (d.1557), a London goldsmith. In 1549, she married George Beresford/Basford (d.1564), a leatherseller, by whom she had George (b.1555), Rowland (d.1580+), Mary, and Ursula. On January 3, 1566, she married John Langley (d. January 4, 1577/8), a goldsmith, as his second wife. They had one child, a daughter named Elizabeth. Langley had no sons by either of his marriages but he had raised his nephews, Francis and Thomas Langley since the death of their father in 1556. Langley was an alderman, warden of the Goldsmith's Company, and Lord Mayor of London in 1576/7. On the night of December 26, 1577, Ursula called Francis and Thomas Langley to their uncle's counting house to solicit their help in persuading her dying husband to make a will. The will was made December 27 with a codicil January 1. Later Francis Langley claimed that during his uncle's last hours, Lady Langley, her cousin Townsend (a lawyer) and Sir Rowland Heyward, overseer of the will, confered in secret and might have altered the will in Lady Langley's favor. The will was proved January 25. Ursula was named executor, but soon discovered that the year her husband had spent as Lord Mayor had left him heavily in debt. One debt, of £440, was to Ursula's son, Rowland Beresford. Ursula inherited various tenements for life, including the Saracen's Head in Cheapside, at that time leased to a goldsmith. The codicil provided her with two other houses in Cheapside to sell to raise the £300 necessary to "bury him to his calling" on January 14, 1578 in the church of St. Lawrence Jewry. The burial itself caused a pillar to collapse in the church, which caused considerable damage. The terms of the codicil led to disputes that went on for years, as those two tenements originally were to have gone to Thomas Langley. Ursula finally swore out a bill of complaint against Thomas because he continued to make difficulties over the sale of the properties. The case was finally dropped after the two tenements were sold.
see MARGARET HOWARD
see MARY GYLL
see ISABEL BROWNSWORD
TISHEM or THYSMANS
Catherine Tishem or Thysmans, an Englishwoman, married Wouter de Gruytere (Walter Gruter) burgomaster of Antwerp, by whom she had four children, including Janus (alternately called Jean, James, and John) (December 3, 1560-1627). Catherine was renowned as a scholar and fluent in French, Italian, Latin, and Greek. The Gruter family sought asylum from religious persecution in England for a time but Catherine eventually left again, removing to Holland in 1577. Information on her is scarce, but there is a biography of her son which contains additional details. See Leonard Forster, Janus Gruter's English Years (1967).
see CATHERINE CROMWELL
see DOROTHY WENTWORTH
TOMASINA or THOMASINA (d.1603+)
Tomasina was also known as Mrs. Tomyson, or Tomasin de Paris, although at least one of her contemporaries referred to her as Italian. She was a dwarf (probably really a midget) who was at the court of Elizabeth Tudor from 1577 until 1603. She was always clothed in the latest fashions at the queen's expense and given many personal gifts besides. In 1579, her sister, Prudence de Paris, possibly at court on a visit, was given a gown of violet cloth. Tomasina could apparently read and write because one of the queen's gifts to her was a "penner" and ink horn. In 1580, together with John and Mary Scudamore, she paid a visit to Dr. John Dee, the queen's astrologer, at Richmond. In that same year she received a pair of knitting needles as a gift from the queen. Portrait: a female dwarf is shown in the portrait at Penshurst of Queen Elizabeth dancing. Since no other female dwarfs were known to have been at Elizabeth's court, it is likely this was meant to represent Tomasina.
Elizabeth Tomlinson was the daughter of William Tomlinson or Tumlenson of Dudley, Westmorland (d.1609), a collier, and Agnes Orres (d. December 1610). Her parents were married in February 1561/2, but there is no record of when Elizabeth was born. She was apparently first a servant in the household of Lord Dudley and then the long term mistress of Edward Sutton, 5th baron Dudley (September 1567-June 23, 1643), by whom she had at least eleven illegitimate children: Robert (d. June 16, 1653), John, Edward, Dudley (d.1684), Elizabeth (d. March 26, 1647), Jane or Joan, Catherine (d.1675), Alice, Dorothy (d.1661+), Susan, and Martha. They used, variously, the surnames Sutton, Dudley, and Tomlinson. Their father provided generously for them, at the expense of his legitimate children (see THEODOSIA HARINGTON), while Elizabeth was alive, but by the time she died, he was facing bankruptcy. In the 1590s, a Star Chamber case accused Dudley of abandoning his wife in London and taking into his house "a lewd and infamous woman, a base collier's daughter."In 1627, Elizabeth quarreled with her son Dudley (known as Dud Dudley) with the result that in her will, dated July 3, 1629, she asked that Dud not see her writings because he "might do somebody wrong." She left clothing to five living daughters and appears to have two sons also living at the time of her death. An online search will turn up an extensive and sometimes heated discussion of Elizabeth Tomlinson, her children and other relatives, and her estate, some of it highly speculative.
Elizabeth Tomson married Aaron Holland (d.1623+) at St. Andrew's, Holborn on August 20, 1581. In the October 1589 subsidy roll, their residence is given as Gray's Inn Lane (also called Purpole Lane) in Holborn and he appears to have been an innkeeper. On April 6, 1592, George Orrell or Orwell and Allan Starlinge broke into the Gray's Inn Lane house and assaulted the couple so badly that their lives were despaired. Orwell escaped punishment to be implicated in the Essex Rebellion of 1601. He was condemned to death but he was still living in 1607. As for Aaron Holland, age 37 in 1593, in June 1598 he is listed as an innholder in the Savoy and on February 3, 1623, he was living in St. James, Clerkenwell. Identified as an "illiterate yeoman," he was the builder and part owner of the Red Bull playhouse in Clerkenwell in 1604/5. He leased an old inn yard that had fallen into disuse from Anne Beddingfield, widow of Christopher, and renovated it to create a permanent playhouse. He then offered eighteen shares at £25 each. The shares paid him £17 10s. annually plus a one-seventh share of the profits, but in 1609 he brought suit in the Court of Requests to demand back rent and new terms for the lease. He was himself sued over profits from the playhouse in 1619. It appears that Elizabeth Holland survived the attack in 1592, but she was obviously not the Mrs. Elizabeth Holland, widow, who was tried in the Middlesex Quarter Sessions in 1597. That Elizabeth Holland was condemned to be carted from Newgate to Bridewell "to be punished" and then returned to Newgate until she had paid a fine for keeping a common house of bawdry.
see SUSAN WHITE
see JANE WILLOUGHBY
see ANNE STANLEY
(c.1590-July 5, 1652)
Eleanor Touchet was the fifth daughter of George Touchet, baron Audley and earl of Castlehaven (c.1550-February 20, 1617) and Lucy Mervyn (d.c.1611). She was well educated, with an understanding of Latin, religion, and law. In March 1609, she married Sir John Davies (1569-December 7, 1626). Her father settled £6000 on her at that time. After Castlehaven's death, she administered his estate in Ulster. Eleanor had three children by her first husband, Lucy (1613-1679), Richard (d.yng), and Jack (d.c.1617). Her daughter was educated at home and taught Latin, French, Spanish, Greek, and Hebrew. According to Thomas Spencer in "The History of an Unfortunate Lady" in Harvard Studies and Notes in Philology and Literature, Vol. XX, at dawn on July 28, 1625, a voice woke Eleanor at Englefield, Hertfordshire, the home she shared with Davies, which she took to be a sign that she had been chosen as a prophetess of the word of God. That ELEANOR AUDELEY was an anagram for REVEALE O DANIEL convinced her that this assumption was correc and she began to issue prophesies. She took her first manuscript of prophesies to the Archbishop of Canterbury, who was less than impressed. Her husband later threw it into the fire, after which Eleanor predicted that he would die within three years and immediately began wearing mourning. He was found dead in his bed less than a year later. The cause was ruled an apoplexy. She remarried three months later, taking Sir Archibald Douglas (d.1644) as her second husband. He also tried to stop her by burning a manuscript, but to no avail. Some of her predictions offended King Charles and although she was incorrect in her claims that the world would end in 1644, she published almost seventy tracts in her lifetime, using several names, including Eleanor Audley (one of her father's titles), and some of her predictions did come true. In October 1633, she was imprisoned and fined £3000 for illegally publishing some of her books abroad and smuggling copies into the country. She was released from the Gatehouse Prison in June 1635 but within the year had created new trouble for herself in Lichfield, where she sprinkled her own version of holy water (made with tar) on the hangings in the Cathedral there. This time, she was committed to Bedlam and kept there until she was transferred to the Tower of London in April 1639 for an unspecified offense, probably a new prophecy. She was released in September 1640 and transferred to the custody of her daughter and son-in-law (Ferdinando, Lord Hastings and earl of Huntingdon) but was arrested at least three more times before her death, on charges ranging from debt to infringement of the publishing laws. During the Civil War she was lodged in Westminster and was a great admirer of Oliver Cromwell. Eleanor was buried next to her first husband in St. Martin-in-the Fields, London. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under "Davies [née Touchet; other married name Douglas], Lady Eleanor;" Thomas Spencer in "The History of an Unfortunate Lady" in Harvard Studies and Notes in Philology and Literature, Vol. XX, edited by Douglas Bush (1938). Portrait: miniature by Isaac Oliver c.1610.
see LUCY MERVYN
Maria Touchet was the daughter of George Touchet, earl of Castlehaven (c.1550-February 20, 1617) and Lucy Mervyn (d.c.1611). In May 1594, after a brief stint at the court of Queen Elizabeth, Maria married Thomas Thynne (1578-1639) in a clandestine wedding in an inn at Beaconsfield. They were sixteen. They kept the marriage secret, since their families were bitter enemies and the story, when it came out, is said to have inspired Shakespeare to write Romeo and Juliet. The Thynnes attempted to have the marriage annulled but were unsuccessful. In November 1605, Thomas inherited Longleat, Wiltshire and Maria lived there, managing the estate, until his death. They had three children, John (1604-d. yng), another son, and Thomas (b.1611). Maria died in childbirth. Biography:Alison D. Wall, Two Elizabethan Women; Oxford DNB entry under “Thynne [née Touchet], Maria.” Portrait: by Mytens, 1611 (when pregnant).
KATHERINE TOURNEY (1537-before November 28, 1607)
Katherine Tourney was the daughter and heir of George Tourney or Turney of Paines Place in Motcombe and Gillingham, Dorset. She married William Webbe of Salisbury, Wiltshire (d. April 15, 1585) and they were the parents of two sons and three daughters, the younger son being John, who was admitted to the Middle Temple in 1580. In 1559, her husband was in London for Parliament when he was taken ill and was "long sick." In 1562, Katherine was presented before the Salisbury justices for wearing apparel unsuitable to her social position. In other words, she probably had been wearing rich fabrics or furs reserved for the nobility. The family moved to Motcombe at about this time. In July 1587 a de bonis non grant was made on the estate of William Webbe, meaning that it had not yet been settled.
see MIRIAM KHAN
GRACE TOWNELEY (d. June 29, 1510)
Grace Towneley was the daughter of Sir Richard Towneley of Towneley, Lancashire (1445-September 8, 1482) and Jane (or Joanna) Southworth. She married Thomas Hesketh of Rufford, Lancashire (c.1465-August 14, 1523) on August 5, 1492 as his second wife. He had divorced his first wife, Elizabeth Fleming, for adultery in 1487. It was Elizabeth, not Grace (as some genealogies state), who later married Thurston Hall. Grace had one child, William, who died young. Portrait: Hesketh family tree, 1597.
GRACE TOWNELEY (d. May 28, 1543)
Grace Towneley was the daughter of Sir John Towneley of Towneley, Lancashire (July 31, 1473-March 5, 1541). The Victoria History of the County of Lancaster, Vol. 6 (found in British History Online) says she was the daughter of his first wife, Isabel Pilkington (1473-1522), although some genealogies say Isabel had no children and name Anne Catterall (d.1541+), wife number two, as mother of all the Towneley children. There is some confusion from another source that gives Isabel Sherburne as Grace's mother and the life dates for John Towneley as c.1420-before 1473. This is an earlier generation. That Grace married Roger Nowell in 1463. Birthdates for this Grace vary from 1500 to 1515. She was the niece of Grace Towneley (d.1510). In July 1521, she married Sir Robert Hesketh of Rufford, Lancashire (d. February 8, 1539; some sources say1541), the illegitimate son but heir of her uncle by marriage, Thomas Hesketh. Sir Robert built the present Rufford Old Hall in c.1530. They had seven children, including Thomas (1526-June 20, 1587), Robert, Ellen, and Jane. One account says they divorced, but this is doubtful. Grace married second Lawrence Habergham of Habergham. One account gives the date of this marriage as 1546, but the date of her death on the memorial brass at Rufford is May 28, 1543. Portrait: memorial brass at Rufford; Hesketh family tree, 1597.
HELEN TOWNELEY (1516-1554)
Helen (or Ellen) Towneley was the daughter of Richard Towneley of Royle, Lancashire (d.c.1539) and Margaret Clarke. In 1531/2, she was married to Ralph Rishton of Ponthalgh, Lancashire (c.1518-1582+). The couple later lived together, confirming the marriage, but by the mid 1540s Helen's grief over her father's death and Ralph's absence to fight in Scotland had left her in a fragile mental state. A relative, Sir Richard Towneley (1499-1556), was named her guardian. According to an online biography of Ralph Rishton, he lived for the last eleven years of Helen's life with another woman, Elizabeth Parker, as his wife. After they had been together for some time, Ralph's father and Elizabeth's mother pushed for a real marriage between them. Ralph sought a divorce on the grounds that Helen was insane. His petition was refused by Chancellor Bonner of Chester, but since the Rishtons and Towneleys were Catholic, he applied to the Lancashire representative of Pope Clement for a dispensation to divorce. This was granted, but in about 1552, in spite of the fact that he and Elizabeth had several children (they would have six sons in all), Ralph was ordered to separate from his new wife by an ecclesiastical court of the Church of England. That body declared that his marriage to Helen was still valid. The online account of Ralph's life states that in the spring of 1554 Helen was living in the cottage of a Widow Sutcliffe, on the road between Burnley and Dunkenhalgh, and that she died there soon after. She and Ralph had no children.
MARY TOWNELEY (1541-1606)
Mary Towneley was the only daughter of Sir Richard Towneley (d.1554) and Frances Wimbishe, who married second Alexander Radcliffe of Ordall. In 1557, Mary married her cousin, John Towneley of Towneley Hall, Lancashire (1528-1607). They had fourteen children, including Richard (April 24, 1566-1628), John, Charles, Christopher, Thomas, Nicholas, Jennet, Frances, Mary, Anne, Margaret, and Elizabeth. From 1564 on, John Towneley was repeatedly imprisoned for recusancy. Portrait: group portrait/genealogy, 1601.
see ANNE BACON
see DOROTHY HEVENINGHAM
see ELIZABETH PERIENT
see JANE STANHOPE
see KATHERINE BANKS
JUDITH TRACY (c.1551-1586+)
Judith Tracy was the third daughter of Richard Tracy of Stanway, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire (c.1500-March 8, 1569) and Barbara Lucy of Charlecote. She married Francis Throckmorton of Ullenhall (1545-1617). Their marriage intentions, filed February 25, 1578/9, list him as of the Inner Temple and Judith as of Islington, spinster. They had seven children: Michael, John, Michael, Judith, Winifred, Frances, and Elizabeth. Portrait: c.1570/80 (National Trust, Coughton Court, Warwickshire).
TRACY (May 18,1581-December
Mary Tracy was the daughter of Sir John Tracy of Toddington, Gloucestershire (d.1591) and Ann Throckmorton (d. May 21,1581). In 1600 she married William Hoby of Hailes Gloucestershire (d.c.1602), by whom she had two sons, Philip (d.1617) and William (d.1623). In November 1607 she married Sir Horace or Horatio Vere (1565-1635), a soldier, and followed him to the Netherlands in 1608. On July 24, 1624, he was created baron Vere of Tilbury. They bought an estate at Clapham, near Hackney. By then they had five daughters, the two eldest born in the Netherlands: Elizabeth, Mary, Catherine, Anne (1617/18-1665), and Dorothy. Vere suffered a stroke while at dinner with a friend and died within two hours. He was buried in Westminster Abbey on May 8, 1635. Lady Vere was a patron of puritan ministers and had a wide correspondence. For a time she served as parliamentarian governor of two of Charles I’s children, Elizabeth and Henry. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under “Vere [née Tracy; other married name Hoby], Mary.” Portrait: engraving by F. H. Van Hove.
see JANE GROVE
Jocosa or Joyce Trappes was the daughter of Robert Trappes (d.1560), a London goldsmith, and Joan Cryspe. On August 15, 1549, she married Henry Saxey, clothworker, in Banstead, Surrey. They had a son, William (d. August 22, 1581). In 1568, she founded four scholarships at Lincoln College, Oxford. After Saxey’s death, she married William Frankland (d.1577), another clothworker. Frankland left her the manor of Thele, Stanstead St. Margaret’s, Hertfordshire, and rights to Rye House in Stanstead Abbots, Hertfordshire. Since her son and both husbands had predeceased her, Jocosa Trappes left her fortune to charity. An estimate of her gifts to various educational institutions during her lifetime and after her death puts the total contribution at £4840. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under “Frankland [née Trappes; other married name Saxey], Joyce.” Portraits: three c. 1586.
Philippa Trappes was the daughter of Robert Trappes, goldsmith of London (d.1560) and Joan Cryspe. Her first husband was a London haberdasher, Edmund Shaa (d. 1539). She then married, by 1542, Sir George Gifford of Middle Claydon, Buckinghamshire (d. December 27, 1557), as his second wife. He made his will November 20, 1556. She was left a wealthy widow, which was of value to her third husband, to whom she was married by 1563. He was Richard Norton of Norton Conyers, Yorkshire (1488-April 9, 1585). He had twenty children to support, as well as numerous siblings. He was also a rebel, participating in the Northern Rebellion of 1569, which resulted in his attainder and exile. In his will, he asked his wife to pay his debts. Her will, dated November 1, 1593, mentions sons and daughters, but not by name, and asks that she be buried in Middle Claydon near her second husband.
MARGARET TRAVES (d.1597)
Margaret Traves was the daughter of Richard Traves, merchant tailor of London, and his wife Alice. She married Thomas Blanke (d. October 28, 1588), a haberdasher who was Lord Mayor of London in 1582-3. By his father's 1562 will, they inherited a messuage called Abbot's Inn, in which they were then living, and all the cellars, yards, warehouses and other buildings in the parish of Saint Maryhill, and also his messuage in Peter Lane. Blanke wrote his will on September 30, 1585 and it was proved November 2, 1588. His land, houses, and leases in Mitcham, Surrey were left to his wife and on July 31, 1591, the queen came to dinner there as a break from her journey from Westminster to Nonsuch. Margaret made her own will on November 24, 1595 and it was proved October 26, 1597. She had erected a monument to her husband in the parish church of Saint Maryhill by Billingsgate and asked to be buried there. The monument features lines of verse about both husband and wife and tells us that they were married for forty-four years. The inscriptions are included in Stow's Survey of the cities of London and Westminster (1598). They had no children.
see ANNE GARRARD
see MARY STOURTON
February 8, 1573)
Joan Trelake was the daughter of John Trelake, alias Davy, of Cornwall. London City Churches by A. E. Daniel (1895) calls him John Lake of London, gentleman. Her first husband was the extremely wealthy Sir Ralph Warren (c.1483-July 11, 1553), mercer and Lord Mayor of London in 1536-7 and again in 1544. She was his second wife. He had a stepdaughter, Joan (see JOAN NORTH) by his first wife, Christian or Christina Warcup/Warcop. It is not certain which one was his wife in January 1537 when she supplied Princess Mary with silk frontlets and other items. She may also have been part of Sir Ralph's gift of embroidery to the Mercer's Chapel. By Joan Trelake, Warren had two children, Joan (c.1540-August 22, 1584; the Oxford DNB says she died in 1572) and Richard (d.1597). The family lived in St. Swyth's Lane. An inventory of Sir Ralph's possessions included framed portraits of himself, St. Jerome, and Sultan Suleiman and tapestry and cushion covers decorated with the maid's head, symbol of the mercer. He had £2000 in plate, £300 in jewels, over £2000 in wool and cloth, and almost £500 in cash. The house contained two "maidens' chambers." As a widow, Joan gave generous bequests to Whittington College and the Mercers' Company. In 1557, she was named supervisor of the will of Catherine Gedding Hall, mother of the historian Edward Hall. Mrs. Hall left Lady Warren a gold ring worth 40s. and in a codicil she also left her a featherbed and a down bolster and one of her cypress chests. In 1558-9, Lady Warren had a license to ship wool to Bruges. On November 28, 1558, she married Sir Thomas White (c.1495-February 12, 1567), merchant tailor, Lord Mayor in 1553-4, and founder of St. John's College at Oxford. Joan died at the home of her son-in-law, Sir Henry Cromwell of Hinchinbrooke, Huntingdonshire. She was buried with her first husband and his first wife in St. Benet Sherehog, London.
Catherine Trentham was the daughter of Thomas Trentham of Shrewsbury, Shropshire (d.1519) and Elizabeth Corbet (d.1519+). She married three times. Her first husband was Thomas Hakluyt of Eyton in Leominster, Herefordshire (d.1544), clerk of the council in the marches of Wales. Catherine may have been the mother of Thomas Hakluyt (c.1533-1596). The marriage settlement Hakluyt made on her led to later disputes with her stepson, Richard Hakluyt (d.1591) as did her guardianship of him with her second husband, Edmund Foxe of Ludford, Shropshire (d.1550), to whom she was married by 1545. They had one son, Edward (b.1546) and one daughter. Foxe made his will on October 7, 1550 and it was proved the following November 27. He left property to his father and to his wife and provided for payment to his stepchildren of their legacies under their father's will. In 1552, however, Richard Hakluyt charged in a chancery suit that his stepmother and Foxe had wrongfully withheld title deeds and occupied twenty acres of land at Eyton. Her third husband was Nicholas Depden or Debden of Brampton, Suffolk (c.1520-1588). His patron, Robert Townshend, may have arranged the marriage, which took place in 1553. This match, however, was not a success and ended in a separation in 1565, when the council in the marches of Wales issued an order for the division of their property. The "unnatural disagreement" between them had caused "contention, debate and quarreling about mere follies and trifles" during the previous four years. Catherine lived at Ludford and had other property in Leominster.
Elizabeth Trentham was the daughter of Sir Thomas Trentham of Rochester, Staffordshire (April 21, 1538-May 1587) and Jane Sneyd (d.1612+). Her father left her a marriage portion of £1000 in his will, payable in three yearly installments of 500 marks each. She was a maid of honor to Queen Elizabeth in 1588/9. In September 1591 she became the second wife of Edward de Vere, earl of Oxford (April 12,1550-June 24, 1604). She was the mother of his son Henry (February 24, 1593-June 1625). In 1601, she accused Arthur Mills, one of Oxford’s servants, of stealing a casket from her. He was tried and acquitted of the charge. Although some sources credit Elizabeth with saving Oxford’s estates from bankruptcy, in 1609 she was forced to sell her home and live with her son because she had no money to maintain her own establishment. Things appear to have improved, however, as she entertained King James and his retiniue at Havering-atte-Bower in mid-1612. Her will, dated November 25, 1612 and proved February 15, 1613, left bequests to her mother, two sisters, a brother, her son, and St. Augustine’s Church, as well as to a goddaughter named Vere Trentham and her waiting woman, Margery Flower. The latter got a tawny satin gown, £10, and half of the countess's "wearing linen." The entire will can be found at Oxford-Shakespeare.com. Elizabeth was buried at Hackney, Middlesex on January 3, 1613, with her husband.
September 6, 1567)
Clemence, Clementia, or Clementine Tresham was the daughter of John Tresham of Rushton, Northamptonshire (d.c.1521) and Isabel Harrington (d.c.1558). She was a nun at Syon Abbey, Isleworth from before 1518 until the dissolution. Expelled from the religious life, she returned to Rushton and remained there for the rest of her life. Portraits: marble effigy in nun’s habit on her tomb in the church of St. Peter’s (no longer extant).
see LETTICE PENYSTON
(c.1535-December 28, 1597)
Mary Tresham was the daughter of John Tresham of Rushton, Northamptonshire (c.1520-May 27, 1546) and Eleanor Catesby (d. May 27, 1546). As both her parents died the same day, it is likely they fell victim to the plague. In c.1563, Mary married William, 3rd baron Vaux (August 14, 1542-August 20, 1595) as his second wife. In Vaux of Harrowden, Godfrey Anstruther quotes a contemporary source that describes Mary as "a better hand at spending than at gathering" and states that they moved into the large house at Harrowden soon after they married. Their children were George (September 27, 1564-July 13, 1594) Catherine (February 1566-before 1597), Muriel ( January 28, 1570-1597+), Edward (d. July 25, 1585), and Ambrose (d. April 26, 1626). Lord Vaux, according to Anstruther, went from being a "wealthy cultured patron of learning" to "a pathetic, poverty-stricken, weak-minded wreck" because of his Catholic faith and his friendship with radical priest Edmund Campion. He was imprisoned for recusancy, then under house arrest, and he and his wife were excommunicated from the Church of England. In their later years, both fell victim to their strong-willed daughter-in-law, Elizabeth Roper, wife of their eldest son George. By the winter of 1594, Elizabeth had turned them out of Harrowden. They moved into Irthlingborough, "a far inferior house." It was there that William Vaux died. Ralph Houlbrooke, in The English Family 1450-1700, reports that in 1595, Lady Vaux was "completely overwrought" by the death of her husband and barely left her room for the next year and was unable to force herself to enter the wing of the house where he had died for more than four years after that. Since Mary died only a little more than two years after her husband, this cannot refer to her (see ELIZABETH ROPER). In 1597, Mary was taken to Oxford, apparently to consult a physician, and died there. She was buried beside her husband at Irthlingborough, but there was no monument erected. Although it was invalid under the law because she died excommunicate, Mary left a will, dated September 18, 1597. She made her brother, Thomas Thresham, her executor and asked that the "great sums of money" she and her late husband had borrowed from friends be repaid. She left the most valuable item she owned, her coach and coach horses (inventoried at £20) to Lady Tresham, £300 to her oldest granddaughter, Mary, £200 to her second grandson William, and £100 to each of three younger grandchildren. Her eldest grandson had already succeeded to the title of 4th baron Vaux. Even if this will had not been declared invalid, it is unlikely her wishes would have been carried out. The inventory of her goods, made on January 12, 1598, listed their total value at just over £70.
see MERIAL THROCKMORTON
Elizabeth Trevanion was the daughter of Hugh Trevanion of Correheigh, Cornwall (c.1530-1575) and Sybilla Morgan (1533-1579+). In July 1580, she married Sir Henry Widdrington (sometimes spelled Withrington) of Widdrington Castle, Northumberland (d. February 1593). In 1588, she pursued his suit at court while he stayed in the north as marshal of Berwick. On August 20, 1593, in Berwick-upon-Tweed, married Sir Robert Carey (1560-April 12,1639). Their mothers were sisters. Queen Elizabeth did not approve of the match and the couple were out of favor, but under James I their fortunes improved. In July 1603, Elizabeth was appointed to Queen Anne's Privy Chamber and made Mistress of her Sweet Coffer. She had her own lodgings at court. In August 1604, Carey was made Keeper of Prince Charles, duke of York. He was created earl of Monmouth for his services in Prince Charles’s household. Elizabeth served as the future king’s governess from 1605-1611 and is credited with curing him of his lameness by limiting the treatments suggested by his doctors. She got a warrant to reimburse her for £326 in personal expenses in the prince's service. Her own children were Philadelphia (1594-1654), who was brought up with Princess Elizabeth, Henry (1596-1661), Thomas (1597-1634), and Katherine. Portrait: group portrait with her husband and children, c.1617, attributed to Paul Von Somer (detail shown).
see ANNE HAMPDEN
see ELEANOR SAVAGE
ELIZABETH TREWINARD (d.1582+)
Elizabeth Trewinard (Trewinnard/Trewennard) was the second daughter of James Trewinard of St. Erith, Cornwall (1490-1523) and his wife Philippa (not to be confused with Elizabeth’s brother James, who lived until at least 1572 and married Philippa Carminowe). Elizabeth married Sir John Killigrew of Arwennack, Cornwall (1508-1577). Their children were Sir John (d.1584), Peter, Thomas, Sir Henry (c.1530-1603), Sir William (d.1622), Jane, Grace, Alice, Anne, and Margaret. In the 1540s, Pendennis Castle was built on John Killigrew’s land and he became the first hereditary captain of the new fortification, which commanded shipping in the Falmouth area. He used his position to prey on the cargoes of vessels that came within his grasp. In 1556, he and his oldest son were arrested for treason but under Elizabeth Tudor their fortunes changed. In 1567, Arwennack House was rebuilt into a fortified stronghold where stolen merchandise was regularly hidden. Neville Williams calls Elizabeth “a tough and unprincipled businesswoman” who managed Arwennack and oversaw the burial of treasure in the garden, but she was not, technically, a pirate. There has been considerable confusion about the Killigrew women, thanks to the Tudor tendency to refer only to “Lady Killigrew.” At one point there where two Lady Killigrews, Elizabeth and her daughter-in-law, Mary Wolverston, and a Mrs. Killigrew (grandson John’s wife, Dorothy Monk) at the same time. By that time, Elizabeth would have been “old Lady Killigrew” and a widow. When she heard a rumor of treasure on board the Marie of San Sebastian, at anchor in Falmouth harbor in 1582, Elizabeth sent her servants to seize the ship and search the cargo. None of the Killigrew women actually went on the raid, but all three were among those who received stolen goods. She was apparently arrested, since Williams reports that two of her sons, Sir Henry and Sir William, then at court, had to pay substantial bribes to secure her release.
JANE TROSSE (d.1579+)
The story of Jane Trosse is told in Shakespeare Among the Courtesans: Prostitution, Literature and Drama 1500-1660 by Duncan Salkeld. Jane was a prostitute whose career is particularly well recorded. It appears that in early 1575, she spent seven days in the chamber of one John Browne at Grey's Inn. This was revealed in the deposition, given on February 25, 1576/7, by one George Craven (alias Smerkin), servant of Master Richard Lane of Lincoln's Inn. In the interim, Jane had been arrested at least twice. On June 20, 1576, she was sent to Bridewell because of her "lewd life." The date of her release is unknown but in December she was apprehended in Holborn and charged with stealing four double pistolettes (Spanish gold escudos) from the brothel run by Stephen French. French himself accused her of charging a Spaniard 20s to lie with him and then, in the middle of the night, stealing another £7 from her customer. This time she was held in the Compter where, on January 2, 1576/7, Robert Bingham paid her 20s to lie with her in the buttery. He also gave her a ring, a pair of gloves, and 10s to pay for her release. She was arrested again on March 9, 1576/7, this time for dressing in men's clothing. Among the other details that came out about Jane in depositions were that clients were fetched to her by "a little black fellow" named Myles, servant to Mr. Osborne, and another serving man, and that she’d shared a bed with one Joseph Adnett and his wife Elizabeth. In May, 1577, Jane was punished while serving time in Bridewell for swearing, refusing to work, and attempting to escape. In late August, hoping to get rid of a troublemaker, the authorities arranged for her to be released into the custody of her father, but Jane refused to go with him or leave the city. Apparently, she was still let go because she was arrested again in February 1577/8. Here the story becomes a bit confusing. Salkeld says she broke out and took with her a kerchief, sheets, and things of the house but a week later was whipped for striking and beating the matron and refusing to work and that she was still in Bridewell in May 1579 when she was punished for swearing. Gustav Ungerer, in "Prostitution in Late Elizabethan England: The Case of Mary Newborough," in Medieval and Renaissance Drama in England, Vol. 15, edited by John Pitcher, Robert Lindsey, and Susan Cerasano, states that Jane was confined in Bridewell in 1579 when she knotted bedsheets together to make a rope and escaped through a window. The Salkeld book tells a slightly different story, that a couple of months after the May 1579 incident she was freed because she was pregnant by one Robert Newman, who promised to pay 20s. to cover the cost of her food and provide for the child. He collected her belongings and they left. Salkeld ends the story there, but the Parish Books of St. Mary Matfelon, Whitechapel refer to a presentment against Ralph Dudley on October 1, 1583 "for harboring of suspected persons as Jane Trosse and such like."
see ROSE CARTWRIGHT
see BLANCHE MILBORNE
Dorothy Troyes was the daughter and coheiress of Thomas Troyes of Kilmeston, Hampshire. Her first husband, married in 1501, was Sir William Uvedale of Wickham, Hampshire (1483-November 28, 1528) by whom she had Arthur (1503-February 1538), John, William, Richard (x. April 28, 1556), Francis, Agnes, Anne, and one other daughter. She had a life interest in an estate in Hampshire and brought that income, briefly, to her second husband, Lord Edmund Howard (c.1478-March 19, 1538/9), a younger son of the 2nd duke of Norfolk who was deeply in debt. She was his second of three wives and is misidentified by M. St. Clare Byrne as the wife mentioned in letters included in The Lisle Letters. See MARGARET MUNDY for the correct identification.
Elizabeth Trussell was the daughter of Edward Trussell of Kibblestone (c.1464-1499) and Margaret Don. Elizabeth became a royal ward after her father's death with an estate worth over £300/year. In 1501, her wardship was purchased by George Grey, earl of Kent for 4,500 marks. Kent died in 1503, still owing £1,800 of this and although the debt was inherited by his son and heir, Richard, he left Elizabeth herself in the keeping of his second wife, Katherine Herbert (d.c.1504), with the provision that his son by her, Lord Henry Grey (1474-1562) would eventually marry Elizabeth.The new earl kidnapped Elizabeth from his stepmother at Harrold, a serious offense for which he was fined 2500 marks. The charge was ravishment, but simply meant he took her illegally. On May 29, 1505, Richard surrendered her wardship to the Crown in return for a reduction in his fine to 1500 marks, provided that Elizabeth lived at least four more years. The king, in turn, resold the wardship to the earl of Oxford, either the 13th earl or John de Vere, 15th earl (1490-March 21, 1540), for £1333. At some point before April 10, 1509, the 15th earl married her. They had seven children: John (1512-August 3, 1562), Frances (1516-June 30, 1571), Elizabeth (1511-1564), Aubrey, Robert, Anne (c.1522-February 1571/2), and Geoffrey. Elizabeth had died by July 1527.
December 7, 1555)
Anne de Tserclaes (also found as Taerclas and Tscerlas) was renowned as a Latin scholar by the time she married John Hooper (x. February 9, 1555), a religious refugee in the Low Countries during the reign of Henry VIII. Her parents' names are unknown but she is described as a Belgian attached to the household of Jacques de Bourgonne, seigneur de Falais and she had a sister who married Valérand Poullain, who succeeded John Calvin to the pulpit in Strasbourg. The marriage probably took place in February 1547 and the couple returned to England soon after. There Hooper served as chaplain to Edward Seymour, duke of Somerset and was later invested as Bishop of Gloucester. Anne had two children, Rachel (c.1548-c.1556) and Daniel (c.1550-c.1556). Rachel's education began extremely early and she was taught English, German, French, and Latin. When Mary Tudor became queen in 1553, Hooper was arrested. Anne fled with her daughter to Frankfurt, where they arrived in early 1554, but had to leave her son behind to be brought to her later. Hooper refused to leave England and was eventually executed for heresy. Anne died of the plague later that same year and both children died soon after.
JOAN TUCKFIELD (1506-1573) (maiden name unknown)
The wife of John Tuckfield, mayor of Exeter in 1549-50, is known to history for her generous bequests to charity and for her portrait, a companion piece to one of her husband. In 1554, John Tuckfield wrote his will. Among other bequests, he left money to his apprentice, his servants, and his maids to pray for him. The life dates of their son, another John, are given online as 1555-1630. In records of 1557, Joan is listed as a widow. She made her will on June 14, 1568. She left all her lands and tenements in the parish of St. Paul to the Tailors Company on the condition that they distribute 6s.8d. yearly among the poor and prisoners. The interest on £300 was to be loaned to needy tradesmen. Two houses in Fore Street were to provide gowns and shifts and 5s. yearly to twelve poor women. Three houses worth £6/year were to provide a trust for the distribution of 50 dozen penny loaves on Christmas Eve and the same on Easter Eve. Portrait: artist unknown.
ELLEN, ELYN, or HELEN TUDOR (c.1459-1502+)
Ellen Tudor was the illegitimate daughter of Jasper Tudor, duke of Bedford (c.1431-December 21, 1495) and a woman possibly named Mevanvy. She married William Gardiner (c.1450-1485), a skinner, according to the Oxford DNB. Other sources call him a cloth merchant, still others a grocer, and some say he hired out as a mercenary and was one of the men who killed Richard III on the battlefield at Bosworth in 1485. These same sources say he was afterward knighted on the battlefield by Henry VII, Jasper Tudor’s nephew, and after that married Jasper’s illegitimate daughter. This makes a good story, but is largely untrue. Neither is it true that William and Ellen were the parents of Stephen Gardiner, Bishop of Winchester (d.1555), or Richard (1486-1546), William (1488-1549) or Alice (d.1588) Gardiner. William and Ellen were married well before the Battle of Bosworth, which took place in the same year William died (the date of his will is September 25). Their only son was Thomas (c.1479-1536), Pryor of Tynemouth. They had four daughters: Philippa, Margaret, Beatrice, and Anne, all of whom were still living in January 1487/8. Before 1493, Ellen married another London skinner, William Sybson or Sibson (d.1501+).
see KATHERINE WOODVILLE
KATHERINE TUDOR (KATHERINE OF BERAIN) (c.1540-August 27, 1591)
Katherine of Berain was the daughter of Tudor ap Robert Fychan of Berain, Denbighshire (d.1564) and Jane Velville. Her grandfather, Sir Rowland Velville (1474-1535), claimed to be the illegitimate son of Henry VII by a Breton lady, born while Henry Tudor was in exile in Brittany. Katherine married four times, first in 1558 to John Salisbury, Salusbury, or Salesbury of Llewenny, Denbighshire (c.1542-1566), by whom she had two sons, Thomas (1561-x.September 20,1586) and Sir John (1566-1612). Katherine was courted by Sir Richard Clough (d.1570), a merchant, during his brief visit to Wales in April 1567. She married him and returned with him to the Low Countries, via London, in May. They had two daughters, Anne (b.1568) and Mary (b.1570). During this period they were in Antwerp and in Spain and made several visits to Wales. In January 1569 they were in Flanders when they heard that English merchants in Antwerp were being arrested. They fled but were captured in Dieppe and held there until Sir William Cecil negotiated their release. Clough died in Hamburg the next year and was buried there, all but his heart, which his wife brought back to Wales with her and buried at Whitechurch, his parish church in Denbigh. Her third husband, married in 1573, was a widower, Maurice Wynn of Gwydir (d.August 10,1580), by whom she had Edward and Jane. In The Expansion of Elizabethan England, A. L. Rowse gives an account of her arrangements for her children's marriages and her stormy relationship with her stepson, Sir John Wynn. In 1584, Katherine married Edward Thelwell of Plas-y-Ward, Denbighshire (d. July 29, 1610). She was buried on September 1, 1591 at Llanefydd. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under "Katheryn of Berain [called Mam Cymru]." Portrait: c.1568 by Adriaen van Cronenburgh.
MARGARET TUDOR (November 29,1489-October 18,1541)
The oldest daughter of Henry VII (1457-1509) and Elizabeth of York (1465-1503), Margaret was married off to James IV of Scotland (1473-1513) in 1503. William Dunbar wrote a poem, “The Thistle and the Rose,” in honor of the occasion. Newly a widow in 1513, she was willing to marry Louis XII of France, but he wanted her sister. Shortly after that marriage was contracted, Margaret chose her own second husband, Archibald Douglas, earl of Angus (1489-1557), by whom she had a daughter, Margaret (October 8,1516-March 7,1578), who was born in England after Margaret escaped house arrest in Scotland. In May of that year, Queen Margaret was reunited with her brother and a tournament was held in her honor at Greenwich, but their relationship was a prickly one. She did not remain at the English court, nor did she remain married to the earl of Angus. Biographies: Three biographies consider Margaret jointly with her sister Mary, Hester W. Chapman’s The Thistle and the Rose, Nancy Lenz Harvey’s The Rose and the Thorn and Maria Perry’s The Sisters of Henry VIII, while Patricia Hill Buchanan’s Margaret Tudor, Queen of Scots deals with Margaret alone. Oxford DNB entry under "Margaret [Margaret Tudor]." Portraits: a full length study by Daniel Mytens in the Royal Collection at Holyrood, which is a copy of a lost portrait painted c.1515-17; a double portrait with John Stewart, duke of Albany; several head-and-shoulders portraits at various points in her life.
MARY TUDOR (March 18,1495-June 25,1533)
Younger sister of Henry VIII and Margaret Tudor (above), the Lady Mary was for some years betrothed to Charles of Castile (later Charles V). She repudiated that marriage in order to wed Louis XII of France (1462-1515). She was eighteen. He was fifty-two. She is said to have been in love with Charles Brandon, duke of Suffolk (1485-August 22,1545), before she left England and to have made her brother promise that she could choose a second husband for herself when Louis died. She may have helped this outcome along by encouraging the French king to stay up late and join in the revels celebrating their marriage. Widowed, she married Suffolk in Paris sometime before February 20, 1515. They were remarried at Greenwich, with her brother’s blessing, on May 13, 1515. They had three children, Henry (March 11,1516-1534), Frances (July 16,1517-November 20,1559), and Eleanor (1519-September 27,1547). Biographies: In addition to the joint biographies listed in the entry for Mary’s sister Margaret, there is Walter C. Richardson’s The White Queen. Oxford DNB entry under "Mary [1496-1533], queen of France." Portraits: There are several sketches by unknown artists, plus a portrait of Mary as a young girl, a double portrait with the duke of Suffolk, possibly at the time of their marriage, and a portrait c. 1530 by Johannes Corves. Her alabaster monument in Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, was destroyed when the abbey was dissolved in 1540.
TUFTON (d. June 18,
Cecily or Cecilia Tufton was the daughter of John Tufton of Hothfield, Kent (1519-October 10, 1567) and Mary Baker. She married Sir Thomas Sondes of Throwley, Kent (d.1592) as his first wife. They had no children. Portrait: alabaster effigy on Sondes tomb in Throwley, Kent.
CECILY TUFTON (1587-1653)
Cecily Tufton was the eldest daughter of Sir John Tufton of Hothfield, Kent (1544-April 21, 1624) and Christian Browne. Her first husband was Sir Edward Hungerford (c.1533-1607). She was his second wife and they had no children. In 1608, she married Francis Manners, later 6th earl of Rutland (1578-1632). They had two sons, Henry and Francis, both of whom died in infancy. Three servants at Belvoir Castle, Joan Flower and her daughters Margaret and Philippa, were blamed for the death of Henry, known as Lord Ros, in 1618. The charge was witchcraft. For more details, see the entry under MARGARET AND PHILIPPA FLOWER.
Mary Tufton was the second daughter of John Tufton of Hothfield, Kent (1544-April 2, 1624) and Christian Browne. In about 1615, she married Henry Constable, Viscount Dunbar (1588-June 28, 1645). They had four sons and three daughters, including John (1615-1668), Matthew, and Henry. After her husband's death fighting for the Royalist cause, Mary lost all but one third of her £200 pension. Portrait: by Marcus Gheeraerts the Younger, 1599.
(maiden name unknown)
Johanne Turnbull bought The Crowne, Aldgate, a hostelry, from David Gittens and John Lloyd, vintners, in 1563. By that time she had been twice widowed. Her first husband was named Margettson, an alebrewer. Her second husband was Thomas Turnbull. She had at least one child, Thomas Margettson, merchant tailor, who had inherited the inn by 1581 when he sold it. In 1569, Johanne leased The Crowne to Richard Irme, woolmonger, and his wife Johanna for thirty years at £12/year.
see ANNE NORTON
see JANE AUDER
MARGARET TURNER (d.1621)
Margaret Turner was the daughter of John Turner of Colne, Essex (1500-1574) and Christian Fisher (1505-January 9, 1603/4). Her mother was heir to Creping (Crepping/Cressing) Hall in Colne, which passed to Margaret on her death. Margaret married first Thomas Smyth of Surrey and Smyth's Hall, Blackmore, Essex (d. May 10, 1592) by whom she had six sons and four daughters, probably John (c.1572-May 31, 1621), Charles, Arthur (c.1580-March 7, 1622), Clement, Stephen, William (d. February 12,1629), Margaret, Abigail, Jane, and Elizabeth, although one genealogy lists a Thomas. In 1593, she became the second wife of Stephen Powle or Powell (c.1553-May 26, 1630). He adopted her children. They had none of their own. She was buried with her first husband in the Priory Church of St. Lawrence, Blackmore. Portrait: effigy.
see MARGARET WOODFORD
see MARY BLACKENEY
(c.1570-January 28, 1610)
Anne Tutt was daughter of John Tutt. She married Thomas Garrard (c.1564-August 9, 1619) and the mother of Francis, Richard (c.1652), Thomas (d.1656), Roger, and one other son. I know nothing about her, but she has one of the nicest brasses I’ve seen. Portrait: monumental brass in Lambourn Church, Berkshire.
see ELIZABETH MUNDEN
see ELIZABETH ROYDON
ALICE TYLDESLEY (d.1552+)
Alice Tyldesley was the daughter of Thurstan Tyldesley of Tyldesley and Wardley Hall, Lancashire (d.1554) and his first wife, Parnell Shakerley. By 1533, she had married Sir Robert Worsley of Booths, Lancashire (d.1585), by whom she had a son, also named Robert (d.1604/5). At some point before 1547, Worsley repudiated her and bigamously married Margaret Beetham of Upholland, by whom he had three more sons, Richard, a second Robert, and Thomas. It is the will of Thurstan Tyldesley that preserved details of Alice's unhappy situation. This will, made September 1, 1547 and confirmed June 24, 1552, contains the following passage: "Notwithstanding that my son-in-law Sir Robert Worsley knight is married to Margaret Beetham, his wife yet living, yet I remit and pardon him £7 10s, upon condition that he give yearly until my daughter Alice his wife £5 or more for her exhibition during her absence from him, or upon condition that he take his said wife into his company and entreat her as he ought to do."
TYLER (d. 1578+)
Margaret Tyler was a servant in the household of Thomas Howard, 4th duke of Norfolk during his marriage to his second wife, Margaret Audley, who died in January 1564. She was obviously an educated woman, because she translated The Mirror of Princely Deeds and Knighthood, a chivalric romance, into English from the Spanish of Diego Ortúñez de Calahorra. It was published in 1578. Unfortunately, nothing else is known about her.
In 1577, Sir Wiston Browne tried to close St. Thomas's Chapel in Burntwood (Brentwood), Essex in the South Weald. He stopped paying the chaplain's stipend, removed the pews, and planned to tear down the building. On August 5th of that year, a local woman named Thomasina Tyler led twenty-nine other women in a protest. According to the Essex Sessions Rolls, they "raised an unlawful riot" in the chapel, the steeple, and the graveyard. They forcibly dragged Richard Brooke, the local schoolmaster, out of the chapel and beat him. Then they barricaded themselves inside the chapel, refusing to come out and defending themselves with "five pitchforks, bills, a piked staff, two hot spits, three bows, nine arrows, an axe, a great hammer, two kettles of hot water, and a great whetstone." When Browne, who was sheriff of Essex and Hertfordshire, arrived with two justices of the peace, fifteen of the women were arrested. The others escaped. Quoting again from the Sessions Rolls, "the same riotous women rescued themselves from their captors, so as to render it impossible to put them into Her Majesty's gaol." As Thomasina was being taken away, the sheriff and magistrates "were forcibly and with violence hindered by Henry Dalley," a local laborer. Apparently, Thomasine and some of the other women were successfully arrested. Among the other names listed in the Sessions Rolls are Anna Woodall, Margaret Banester, Alice Greatheade, Priscilla Prior, Margaret Bayford, Mary May, Alice Degon, and Dorothea Woodall. All were identified as "spinsters of Burntwoode." The matter ended up before the Privy Council and, on August 11, they ordered the women released on bail. The case was heard at Michaelmas Quarter Sessions where relatively low fines of 4d. each were imposed on the women. Eventually, Browne gave up his efforts to close the chapel.
AGNES TYLNEY or TILNEY (1477-May 1545)
Agnes Tylney was the daughter of Hugh Tylney of Skirbeck and Boston, Lincolnshire and Eleanor Tailboys (or Talbot). She was first at court at fifteen. She married Thomas Howard, earl of Surrey (1443-May 21, 1524) as his second wife on August 17, 1497. Their children were Dorothy (1513-1545), Thomas (d.1537), William (1510-January 21, 1573), Anne (c.1500-1558/9), Katherine (1508-1554), Elizabeth, Richard (d.1517), and two sons and four daughters who died young. Agnes waited on Catherine of Aragon during Catherine's marriage to Arthur, Prince of Wales in 1501-2. In 1503, she went with Princess Margaret to Scotland for Margaret's marriage to James IV. In 1514, she accompanied Princess Mary to France for her wedding to King Louis XII. By then Agnes's husband had been elevated in the peerage to duke of Norfolk. In 1516, Agnes was one of Mary Tudor's godparents. In 1520, she was one of the few noblewomen who did not attend the Field of Cloth of Gold. Her husband was left behind to defend England and Agnes, together with her daughters Dorothy, Katherine, and Elizabeth, remained with Princess Mary at Richmond. As a widow, the dowager duchess of Norfolk lived mostly at Horsham and at Lambeth. Her household always included a number of young relatives. Her daughter, Lady Daubeney, for example, sent all three of her daughters by Rhys ap Griffith to be raised by her mother. In June 1528, during an epidemic of the sweating sickness, Agnes wrote to Cardinal Wolsey with advice on curing those who fell ill. She recommended treacle and "water imperial" and setwell for the stomach and advised that those who fell victim to the disease fast for sixteen hours and stay in bed for twenty-four hours. As precautions, she suggested isolating sufferers for an entire week and putting vinegar, wormwood, rosewater, and crumbs of brown bread on linen and sniffing it, but warned that this mixture must not touch the face. She also took advantage of the occasion to begin to lobby for the wardship of one of the daughters of Sir John Broughton, which she eventually obtained. In 1529, she gave evidence that Catherine of Aragon had been Prince Arthur's wife and later she took part in the coronation of Queen Anne Boleyn, daughter of one of her Howard stepchildren. The deposition was given on June 16, 1529 in the Cluniac priory at Thetford. Agnes was godmother to Princess Elizabeth. When King Henry VIII began to court Catherine Howard, one of the young girls who had been brought up at Horsham, Agnes said nothing to discourage the match. When Catherine's past misconduct was revealed, therefore, Agnes was held accountable and arrested in late 1541. She was pardoned the following May 5th and released. She was buried May 31, 1545 at Thetford Abbey, Norfolk. Her will, dated March 12, 1542, was proved November 9, 1545. Biography: Oxford DNB entry under "Howard [née Tilney], Agnes." Portrait: an engraving done long after her death.
TYLNEY (d. April
Elizabeth Tylney was the daughter of Sir Frederick Tylney of Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk (c.1420-1447) and Elizabeth Cheyney (c.1420-September 20, 1473). She married first Humphrey Bourchier (d. April 14, 1471), by whom she had Margaret (1468-1552), John (1467-1532), and Anne, and second, on April 30, 1472, Thomas Howard, 2nd duke of Norfolk (1443-May 21, 1524). Her Howard children were Thomas, 3rd duke (1473-August 25, 1554), Elizabeth (1476-April 3, 1538), Edward (1477-1513), Edmund (1478/80-1539), Muriel (1485-December 14, 1512), five or six more sons who died young, and another daughter who died young. In 1485, after the Battle of Bosworth, Elizabeth's husband briefly succeeded his father as duke of Norfolk but he had been wounded in the battle and was a prisoner in the Tower and within three months both he and their eldest son had been attainted for treason and stripped of their titles. On October 3, 1485, Elizabeth wrote to John Paston from the Isle of Sheppey. His wife was her cousin. In the letter, she wrote that she had hoped to send her children to Thorpe and mentioned that Paston had promised her horses to help convey them there. Now, however, one of Henry VII's followers, Lord Fitzwalter, has dismissed all her servants there. Fortunately, her husband's attainder specified that she should continue to enjoy her own inheritance, which prevented Fitzwalter from seizing her manor of Askwell, although she was left with only a few servants and four younger children to care for. By December she was in London, living near St. Katherine's hospital, which was also close to the Tower. John Skelton's "The Garlande of Laurell" (1523) may have been inspired by Elizabeth and her daughters Anne, Elizabeth, and Muriel. Or by an entirely different Elizabeth, countess of Surrey, Elizabeth Stafford. Alison Weir's biography of Mary Boleyn suggests it was composed in May 1495 during a visit to Sheriff Hutton Castle, where Thomas Howard and his family were then living. The circle of ladies is thus identified as Elizabeth Tylney, countess of Surrey, her daughters Elizabeth and Muriel Howard and Anne Bourchier (Lady Dacre), Margery Wentworth (later Lady Seymour), and Margaret Brewes, wife of Sir Philip Tylney. Elizabeth Tylney's grandchildren included two queens—Anne Boleyn and Catherine Howard. She made two wills, one as the widow of Humphrey Bourchier, on February 28, 1472, and one as the wife of Thomas Howard, on May 8, 1472. In the first she left £100 to each of her daughters by her first husband. In the second, she left life interest in her properties to her second husband and willed that if her son, John Bourchier, died without issue during her or her husband's life, "then Margaret and Anne to have none of the £100 given by my other will." Testamenta Vetusta (vol. 2, p. 483) also identifies a third will as belonging to Elizabeth Tylney, but in fact this one is the will of Elizabeth Talbot, widow of the last Mowbray duke of Norfolk. Portrait: stained glass window in Long Melford Church, Suffolk.
Elizabeth Tylney was the daughter of Sir Philip Tylney or Tilney of Shelley, Suffolk (d. January 8, 1532/3) and Elizabeth Jeffrey. She was a lady in waiting to Lady Jane Grey, possibly by 1548, when Lady Jane was chief mourner for Queen Kathryn Parr. Through her mother, Elizabeth was related to Frances Brandon, Lady Jane's mother. Elizabeth was with Lady Jane in the Tower, both during her short nine day reign and afterward, when she was a prisoner. She attended Lady Jane on the scaffold in 1554. Later, Elizabeth married a man named Peter Clarkson or Clark.
Katherine Tylney was the daughter of Sir Philip Tylney or Tilney of Shelley, Suffolk (d. January 8, 1532/3) and Elizabeth Jeffrey and the niece of Agnes Tylney, duchess of Norfolk. Through her mother, she was also related to the Brandon family and thus to the duke of Suffolk. She was a member of the dowager duchess of Norfolk's household at Horsham in Sussex and at Lambeth, along with her sister-in-law, Malyn Tylney (née Chambre), Dorothy Baskerville, Margaret Benet, and Alice Wilkes, at the same time Catherine Howard was in the duchess's care. After Catherine became queen, Katherine Tylney and Alice Restwold were among her chamberers, as was Margaret Morton, who had also been at Lambeth. While the queen was carrying on with her lover, Thomas Culpepper, everyone but Lady Rochford and Katherine were barred from Catherine's bedchamber. When the whole sordid story came out, Katherine was interrogated about events at Lambeth, particularly how much the duchess knew about them and, on November 13, 1541, was questioned about more recent events at court, particularly at Lincoln on the recent progress and at Hampton Court. Katherine insisted that she'd never seen who it was the queen met in the wee hours of the morning. When the queen was tried, her appointment of Katherine as her chamberer was offered as further proof that she intended to return to the "abominable life" she had led in the duchess's household. On December 22, 1541, along with a number of others, Katherine pleaded guilty to knowing of the wicked life of Catherine Howard before her marriage and concealing it from the king. She was sentenced to imprisonment in the Tower of London and the seizure of all she owned. As a single woman, she did not actually own much of anything, certainly no lands or tenements. How long she was held is uncertain, but it was probably not for an extended period of time. The duchess was freed in May 1542. Katherine later married John Baker of Cambridge (d.1579+), half brother of Archbishop Matthew Parker, and had at least one child, Elizabeth (d.1606).
see MARGARET BREWES
Elizabeth Tyringham married Sir Edmund Tame of Fairford, Gloucestershire (d. October 1, 1534) as his second wife. They had no children. In his will, made in 1532, he called her the person "whom I trust above all other to see this my last will to be performed," and named her sole executor of that document. She constructed several brass memorials in the Lady Chapel at Fairford, Gloucestershire, where Sir Edmund had endowed a chantry. Although her stepson inherited Fairford Manor, she continued to live there even after his death. She made her will in November 1550. Portrait: two brasses with her husband and his first wife, Agnes Greville (d. July 26, 1506) at Fairford.
see LEONORE VIERENDEELS
see ANNE BROWNE
(1466-September 20, 1520+)
Eleanor Tyrrell was the daughter of Sir William Tyrrell of Gipping, Suffolk (and Margaret Darcy?). She married Sir Edmund Knyvett of Buckenham Castle, Norfolk (c.1462-c.1504) and was the mother of Sir Thomas (d. August 10, 1512), William, Sir Anthony (1485-1549), Christopher (1491-1520), James, Anne (d.1558), Edward, and Edmund (d. May 1, 1540). King Henry VIII granted her an annuity of £10. She was also, apparently, the guardian of her son Thomas's orphaned children, as she received quarterly wages for the "finding" of them (£22 8s. 4d.) in July 1515. These grandchildren were Catherine, Anne, Edmund (1507/8-May 1, 1550/1), Ferdinando, Henry (d. March 30, 1547), and Anthony Knyvett.
see ELIZABETH BRUYN
(maiden name unknown)
Margaret Tyrrell, said to be the wife of William Tyrrell, a gentleman of Essex, made the mistake of expressing the opinion that Prince Edward was not the rightful heir to the throne. She was examined to Thomas Cromwell on November 24, 1537 and was in the Tower of London by December 5 of that year. She was held there without being charged with treason or tried, but on July 24, 1540, Parliament passed an act of attainder against her. She was scheduled to be executed—hanged, drawn and quartered—on July 30, 1540. Most sources say she was executed, but a book published in 1904, Lives of the English Martyrs declared blessed by Pope Leo XIII, states that the sentence was not carried out. Her husband, who may have been the son of Sir James Tyrrell of Gipping (x. May 6, 1502), was also arrested for speaking his mind. For saying that the king's assassins would "attain paradise" and other remarks made in 1536 and in 1539, he was tried and convicted of treason in 1541 but he was pardoned in March 1543.
MARY TYRRELL (1552-1593+)
Mary Tyrrell was the daughter of John Tyrrell of Warley, Essex (according to the History of Parliament entry for her husband, which is the main source for information in the following account). According to an online genealogy, she was the only child of Thomas Tyrrell (son of John Tyrrell and Ann Norris) and Anne Wolley. In about 1571, she married Thomas Clinton (or Fiennes de Clinton) of Horbling, Lincolnshire (c.1548-c.1613), second son of the first earl of Lincoln and a gentleman pensioner. Online genealogies say they married at some point before September 21, 1575. They had one son, Francis, and two daughters. The earl settled lands worth £900 on the couple at the time of their marriage, according to a letter written by Clinton to Robert Cecil c.1600. In his will, Lincoln left Thomas a £50 annuity from property in Lincolnshire. Mary brought the manor of Warley and other Essex lands to the marriage. Thomas was involved in a lawsuit with his older brother Henry, the 2nd earl of Lincoln, that claimed, in part, that Henry deprived Mary of the profits of her Tyrrell inheritance. Thomas was heavily in debt by 1579. By July 1590, Thomas and Mary had separated and were on very bad terms. He refused to maintain her and she reportedly feared for her life. The Privy Council ordered the captain of pensioners to make sure that she received £30 a year out of his wages. Henry, earl of Lincoln, also had marital difficulties at about this time. See ELIZABETH MORISON. In 1593, Thomas was charged with trying to take away the Tyrrell inheritance. He claimed he had been setting aside £50 a year for his wife and again blamed his brother. It is unclear which of them was responsible for alienating her lands through sales and mortgages. By 1593, Thomas and Mary may have reconciled. No dates of death have been recorded for either of them, but in c.1613/14, Francis Clinton sold Horbling and other lands to his uncle, the Earl of Lincoln. Francis was deeply in debt and, to add insult to injury, there was a rumor circulating that he had been born to Mary Tyrrell before her marriage to Thomas Clinton and was therefore not the legal heir. One online source gives the date of his birth as c.1583. If that is accurate, the rumor was completely unfounded.
Agnes Tyrwhitt was the daughter of Sir William Tyrwhitt of Kettleby, Lincolnshire (d. April 10, 1522) and Anne Constable. In 1496, she married Thomas Borough or Burgh, later 3rd baron Borough of Gainsborough (1483-February 28,1549/50). They had numerous children, including Anne (c.1500-1582), Edward (c.1508-1533), Sir Thomas (d.1542), William, 4th baron (c.1521-September 10,1584), Margaret, Agnes, Henry (c.1531-April 22, 1557), Eleanor, John, Richard, and two daughters (Dorothy and Elizabeth) who became nuns. From 1510, when he was declared a lunatic, Agnes had to deal with an insane father-in-law who lived until 1528. The date of her death is not known, but her husband could not have remarried earlier than 1538, the year of the death of the previous husband of his second wife. Agnes may therefore have been at court with her husband when Anne Boleyn was queen (1533-36), since he was Queen Anne's chamberlain. She may still have been alive to deal with the domestic uproar caused when her husband first accused their son Thomas's wife of adultery in 1537. Portrait: Agnes has been proposed as the subject of the incomplete sketch by Hans Holbein the younger labeled "Lady Borow" and dated c.1532-42, although the inscription was added much later and may not be accurate. The sketch is definitely not a portrait of either Katherine Parr or Katherine Clinton.
see BRIDGET MANNERS; BRIDGET WILTSHIRE
see ELIZABETH OXENBRIDGE (2 entries)
see MARGARET SULYARD
text ©2008-14 Kathy Lynn Emerson (all rights reserved)